I had to do it. I just had to have both!

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2022, 05:52 AM
Pro

Received 165 Likes on 137 Posts
I had to do it. I just had to have both!

In March of 2021, I purchased a 2007 Acura TL Type S. This was my first Honda/Acura vehicle. I have been so mesmerized by what the car could do as an FF platform, and have learned to appreciate it extraordinarily so over the past year. Yesterday, I finally found an opportunity to add the next best thing to the stable: a 2012 Acura TL SH-AWD Tech. I've been hunting for 4 months, and the wait has been worth it. I look forward to testing the SH-AWD out, and finding out what it is actually capable of achieving. I haven't pushed the car yet, but from the initial experience, it seems to excel in every facet over the Type S. I particularly like this 2012 car because it has the 09-11 rims, and I've seen so few 12-14 cars with this combination. I didn't have any negative opinions on the 2009-2011 model years, it's just that I happened to find the facelift model instead.

The following 2 users liked this post by Ascension:
02AEMCL (04-21-2024), Dragon27 (05-27-2022)
Old 05-08-2022, 07:02 PM
Pro

I can't believe how well planted the SH-AWD is as well, like the Type-S. Also, it has quite some extra power, especially for weighing ~300 lb more than the Type-S. It feels faster than the Type-S without a doubt. The Type-S excelled so well for what it did, and it seems the SH-AWD takes every aspect to the next level.

I can't imagine how I would feel if I were to get into a TLX Type-S right now.
Old 05-10-2022, 10:59 AM
Instructor

Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts
Congrats on the purchase. I would love to have a 07 TL type S along with my 2012 TL as well. I agree, I'm not a fan of the stock rims on the 12 TL tech, I got lucky and got the Advance rims on mine. Did you get the 12 TL in manual?
The following users liked this post:
Ascension (05-12-2022)
Old 05-11-2022, 07:50 AM
6G TLX-S

Received 1,146 Likes on 818 Posts