Need Wheel advice!! I am a noob!

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2009 | 03:07 PM
7th Gear

Need Wheel advice!! I am a noob!

Hey everyone,

I am new to Acurazine (first post), and I also am pretty much a noob when it comes to cars. I have an 05 WDP TL, basically completely stock, no body kit or susp. or anything like that.

I am looking to get new wheels and tires, either 19's or 20's and I am looking for some input. After reviewing the "new rims and tires" thread, I have come to the conclusion that I think I want staggered wheels.

How wide can the back wheels be without doing further modifications to the car?

19's or 20's? Even though I am eventually going to drop the car with a new suspension -- I have seen good looking 20's and 19's on the TL on stock suspension, whats the trick?

19's or 20's? Will the ride on 20's be terrible?

I want wheels with a lip, but I kind of want black wheels (to go along with tinted windows and blacked out tail lights and sidemarkers) -- does anyone have anything like this already and would be willing to post pics so I can get an idea?

Thanks for your feedback!
Old 05-06-2009 | 03:43 PM
Chapter Leader (New England)

Do the right thing and drop it first, THEN decide what wheels you want. It's easier to plan wheels around suspension than it is to plan suspension around wheels in my opinion.
Old 05-06-2009 | 04:01 PM
RPF1+RS3 FTW