Want to wake this engine up a little...

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2011 | 05:05 PM
Advanced

Want to wake this engine up a little...

Hey all,

I'm a newbie, so go easy on me.

Just bought a 2008 TL. I'm looking to wake the engine up a little, but not interested in obnoxious and loud, and not interested in annoying ressonance at 65 on the highway.

I thought about CAI, Jet V-Force programmerj, and replacing the stock mufflers to mold the sound a little. Looking for a nice "M5 sounding" growl, low and mean - but fNOT interested in being an "all the time" loud car, I would greatly prefer quiet on the highway, only to growl hard when tromped on.

LOVE this car, it's great. Just want to wake the engine up a little, without breaking the bank. I've got no problem spending $500-$800.

Thanks for your help-
Old 06-11-2011 | 06:31 PM
Chapter Leader (San Antonio)

The best mod for the money is the RV6 J-pipe which is $450 I believe. Increased throttle response and an extra 13-18 WHP.

Next great mod would be the UR pulley or the RSB.

UR Pulley decreases the weight of the stock pulley by a few pounds, but it rotates at a faster pace which leads to 100LB lost- equivalent to a tenth off your 1/4th.

The RSB is to improve your cornering and steering response at higher speeds. The RSB is the best bang for your buck overall. Comptech RSB goes for $100-110 shipped and the UR Pulley goes for $200 I believe.
Old 06-11-2011 | 06:36 PM

The CAI, well at least till you get F/I, is a waste of money. Now it does give you a few WHP, but for $300+, the gains aren't worth it compared to the RV6 V3 J-pipe.

The cheapest way to improve sound would be doing the Mid-muffler delete which should cost around $40. You can replace the Dynomax Resonator on the resonator of the exhaust to "increase" the sound. Unfortunately, this won't give you a M5 sound, instead, you may get the G35/G37 noise.

To achieve a M5 type sound, I would make your own exhaust or buy the RV6 "True Dual" Exhaust.