Sponsored by:

6-sp vs. auto...

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2005, 12:54 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb 6-sp vs. auto...

Hello,

Newbie here! This coming weekend, I'm trading in my '04 Pilot for an '05 TL as my new winter "beater". I'm 95% sure I'd like to get an automatic. How much slower is the auto than the manual? Since it's a winter "beater", it's better in auto form. I already have an S2000 for shifting, its gear box is top-notch, so it is basically a summer fun car. Anyway, back to my question, how much slower? Not that I'm buying this car as a dragster, but still I wonder how much an auto is slower than a manual. It doesn't hurt to wonder.

Btw, I'm getting white diamond (pearl white) with parchment/beige, whatever. Man, this car is like the most value for the money. For only low $30K, it comes with EVERYTHING, and the quality is excellent, that's besides the renowned reliability. Had it been an AWD car, it'd be even better. But as a winter ride, FWD is better than RWD in my case.

Thanks!
Old 02-17-2005, 02:02 AM
Intermediate

Hewwo?!!
Old 02-17-2005, 03:07 AM
Safety Car

from magazine publications the 5AT clocked 0-60 times at around 6.7 seconds while the 6MT has gotten as fast as 5.7. even tho you are using the car as a winter "beater" the auto doesn't necessarily mean it will give you better traction in the snow. you can control a 6MT just as well in the snow as an 5AT.
Old 02-17-2005, 03:42 AM
Intermediate

Wow! A whole second slower? Interesting! But I still get an auto...I was just curious.

It's not about control in the snow, it's about hassle-free drives in the winter and traffic; no need to deal with shifting and clutch, etc. Oh, and yes, auto is easier to control on snow, trust me.
Old 02-17-2005, 06:25 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
lol winter beater

Why get a TL if winter is that bad get an awd car or suv. Makes more sense.