View Poll Results: Do you change oil only or both oil and filter?
Oil only since Acura says so.
5.88%
Oil and filter always please.
94.12%
Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

Who changes just the oil?

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2023, 02:19 AM
Advanced

Received 72 Likes on 19 Posts
Who changes just the oil?

I am new to owning my RDX. I have owned Acuras and Hondas before but none had a maintenance minder setup. When it was time the change the oil it was also time to change the filter. Now we have codes A and B where in both you change the oil but for code A you only change the oil and not the filter. For my car that would be roughly 10000 miles between filter changes.

I have a local dealer that charged $120 for oil change and also $120 for both oil and filter change. Seems like it would not make any sense to do just the oil if the price is the same. For the sake of longevity of the engine I would rather change both anyways.

So I am wondering how many actually have just the oil changed without changing the filter?
Old 11-08-2023, 04:53 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 704 Likes on 546 Posts
I change oil twice 50% and 0% and filter one time. Oil at costco $38 for 10qt.

Old 11-08-2023, 05:50 AM
Suzuka Master

BTW, if you are worried about engine longevity I would consider changing oil more often especially if you do a lot of short trips as these engines are known fuel diluters. I use 5w-30 also
Old 11-08-2023, 11:18 AM
Drifting

Received 241 Likes on 165 Posts
Originally Posted by rmeastma
I am new to owning my RDX. I have owned Acuras and Hondas before but none had a maintenance minder setup. When it was time the change the oil it was also time to change the filter. Now we have codes A and B where in both you change the oil but for code A you only change the oil and not the filter. For my car that would be roughly 10000 miles between filter changes.