break rotors/pad replacement and dealer's quote

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2007 | 12:53 PM
5th Gear

break rotors/pad replacement and dealer's quote

Hi everyone,

even though I have been watching and following advices on this great forum, i guess it's time for me ato post my first question. I live in Toronto and have a 01 CL-S with 142k on it. I have not done anything major since I bought it last year. But i knew it had some breaking problems and this summer I decided to take it to the dealer and do a type 2 maintenance. This is what they revealed and said that needs to be done. I am new to this and have very less knowledge on what is crucial. Can someone help me please.. here is the list and the price they gave me..

(1) Replacement of Front Rotors + pads = CAD 668
( can not be machined as it would become too thin it seems)

(2) Replacement of Rear Rotors + pads = CAD 565
( can not be machined as it's rusted ?? )

(3) Break fluid change = CAD 85

(4) Transmission fluid change = CAD 85

(5) Coolant change and gasket replacement = CAD 340

(6) Right Rear wheel bearing adjustment/repair = CAD 240
this may need wheel alignment

Certainly this is way over my budget and I know it's the dealers job to tell everything they can do to bump the bill I read from the posting that the front breaks do most of the job. hence I am thinking about going for only for items (1) and (4). What do you guys think ?
Old 04-24-2007 | 01:11 PM
In the Mid-South meow

I'd say your best bet is to either try doing as much of that service as you can on your own or bring it to a shop that deals with Honda/Acuras and see what they say. Also maybe try a different dealership and don't tell them what this dealership said you need and see what they come up with. Good luck!
Old 04-24-2007 | 01:32 PM
Missing My CL-S

if you're going to change the rotors/pads, don't get OEM ones. they won't last long at all. where in Toronto are you? and what dealership did you take it to? I can always help you out.