Noise when turning wheel

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2009, 11:42 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Noise when turning wheel

Anyone experience a noise when turning the steering wheel from left to right and back? It's most noticeable when the car is idling while at a stop (either in gear, reverse or in park) or setting up to park. When I turn the wheel just a little bit to the left, then to the right, there is a very small "clunk" or "thud" that can be heard and felt under the floor on the driver's side. I can feel this small thud under my feet when turning the wheel.

I'm no mechanic so I cannot explain how or what is going on down there but it sounds like the whole turning mechanism makes a clunk noise when turning from left to right, but not when turning constantly one way, only when turning one way then the other. (when changing turning direction) I don't know if I am explaining myself correctly.

I first noticed this last weekend when I was backing up. It is hardly noticeable when driving, although no one is really turning the wheel left to right and back on a constant basis, unless trying to warm up their tires! lol I can reproduce the symptom at any time. I had the mechanic take a quick look and he said he hadn't noticed whether or not all RDXs made this sound. They booked me an appointment to have it looked at next week.

Everything feels very solid in the steering and suspension, the whole vehicle feels very "tight" and normal, just that weird noise when turning. Anyone else experience this sound?

Thanks.
Old 07-15-2009, 12:50 PM
El Chulo...

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Cool

Dogma, I am also experiencing a noise when turning the steering wheel at idle. Mine is more of a rattling noise though vs. a thud, I believe it is something that is just loose down there like some kind of plate or shield..? Just as yours no problems with handling/suspension Let me know what you find out...
oh by the way my RDX is 07 with 31k
Old 07-15-2009, 01:28 PM