No Orbital Polisher....

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2006, 11:35 AM
Living the Dream

Received 130 Likes on 71 Posts
No Orbital Polisher....

I am coming up soon (end of Aug) on my next detail and just have a few questions:

1. I clayed last time I detailed (May) would you recommend doing it again? (I was hoping to clay every other detail)

2. I've seen it mentioned here before, but I am not 100% sure where, that some people use a paint cleaner only on the "dirty" parts of their car. Is this okay, or do you recommend going ahead and doing the whole car?

3. Between #1 and #2, would doing both be overkill?

4. I've never used polish on a car before and do not have an orbital polisher. How much "force" should I use when polishing? I know it's all relative, but would a force similar to when I wax be good? (I have read directions to go in a back and forth motion, so at least I know that much)

For the future, if/when I do get an orbital polisher, do you think a local detailer would mind showing/teaching me how to use it correctly? Reading directions and actually doing it are two completely different things.

Thanks for any help
Old 07-18-2006, 11:58 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,989 Likes on 1,412 Posts
when i detail my cars, i clay every 6 months so i don't overkill. As for the buffer, you apply no pressures and the weight of the buffer will be perfect for the machine to spread the wax.
Old 07-18-2006, 12:40 PM
Safety Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by cmschmie
I am coming up soon (end of Aug) on my next detail and just have a few questions:

1. I clayed last time I detailed (May) would you recommend doing it again? (I was hoping to clay every other detail)

2. I've seen it mentioned here before, but I am not 100% sure where, that some people use a paint cleaner only on the "dirty" parts of their car. Is this okay, or do you recommend going ahead and doing the whole car?

3. Between #1 and #2, would doing both be overkill?