Technology Get the latest on technology, electronics and software…

Dell or Apple 20" Display?

Old 06-28-2007 | 08:13 PM
Racer

Dell or Apple 20" Display?

I just got a new MacBook and want to get a new monitor. I can get the Dell 20" UltraSharp 2007WFP for $449 (Damn, they just raised the price $50 in the last hour!). The Apple 20" Cinema Display is $599. What I like about the Dell is that you can adjust it up and down, as well as swivel. I'm new to Mac. The Dell add says it has multiple connectors, including DVI-D. I know that Apple is DVI -- is there any difference between the DVI on Macs and DVI-D? I looked at a bunch of Mac boards and it looks like quite a few Mac people are using the Dells. Any wisdom on which one I should go for -- are the Dell's really the same quality -- which is what people are saying (supposedly both made by LG). Any wisdom on this decision would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 06-28-2007 | 08:18 PM
Racer

I forgot to put in the last post that the Apple is $599 and I refreshed the screen and the Dell is back to $399! So there's a two hundred dollar saving with the Dell, plus a three year warranty vs. one year. I want to go for the Dell unless any of you Mac guys can explain to me some things I don't understand about Macs or Mac displays which would give me a good reason to for for the Apple -- Thanks again for any help on this.
Old 06-28-2007 | 08:20 PM
Yeehaw

I thought that the actual screen was identical on those two, or if not, it was very close. I'd go with the Dell.

For that matter, you can get a 22" Viewsonic that matches up to either one of those for about 250.
Old 06-28-2007 | 08:34 PM
Racer

I've been told the same thing -- that they're identical. Are there any technical usability issues that make for a better experience with the MacBook AND an Apple Display? Or is Apple just charging a lot more because they're Apple?