Computer Building Thread - Page 18 - AcuraZine - Acura Enthusiast Community

Notices
Technology Get the latest on technology, electronics and software

Computer Building Thread

 
Old 04-05-2016, 02:17 PM
  #681  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
Then more cores > faster cores for sure. No exception.
maharajamd is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to maharajamd For This Useful Post:
stogie1020 (04-05-2016)
Old 04-05-2016, 02:28 PM
  #682  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
I am pausing to ask some questions on the MSI forum about the RAM choice. It's not on the approved listing, (they only have a handful of 16GB modules approved) so I just need to find out of that RAM configuration and model will probably work. It's dual channel, but I have yet to read anything where quad channel RAM actually performs better than dual channel except in benchmarking.
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-05-2016, 02:34 PM
  #683  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
I haven't seen much about that either.

Man you're a stickler though. Using approved ram, etc. Lol.
maharajamd is offline  
Old 04-05-2016, 03:38 PM
  #684  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
Originally Posted by maharajamd View Post
I haven't seen much about that either.

Man you're a stickler though. Using approved ram, etc. Lol.
Like I said, stability is #1 priority...
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-05-2016, 07:22 PM
  #685  
Excels at nothing
 
svtmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
Age: 54
Posts: 35,417
Thanked 2,464 Times in 1,349 Posts
Why no 8-core Xeon?
svtmike is offline  
Old 04-05-2016, 08:49 PM
  #686  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
Originally Posted by svtmike View Post
Why no 8-core Xeon?
A. cost

B. I am chicken


Last edited by stogie1020; 04-05-2016 at 08:52 PM.
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-05-2016, 09:28 PM
  #687  
youtu.be/TejoMjHk3x0
 
#1 STUNNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 29,420
Thanked 3,474 Times in 2,086 Posts
Quad channel RAM + 8 core Xeon =
#1 STUNNA is offline  
Old 04-12-2016, 09:08 PM
  #688  
Registered Member
 
SlowLane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 527
Thanked 90 Times in 80 Posts
I ordered the parts below to build a new desktop. Unfortunately, the power switch on the SilverStone case was broken. I picked up a Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 cube case as a replacement. The micro atx motherboard looks small in the Corsair case, but I really like the layout. Cable management is a breeze, airflow is good, fans are quiet, and there is lots of room. The only downside is the size. The case looks as big as a mini-fridge sitting under my desk.


ASUS H97M-E/CSM LGA 1150 Intel H97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i7-4790K Devil's Canyon Quad-Core 4.0 GHz LGA 1150 BX80646I74790K Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics

Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model BLS2KIT8G3D1609DS1S00

EVGA 02G-P4-3751-KR G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 Video Card

SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 256GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-7KE256BW

Seagate Constellation ES ST1000NM0011 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Enterprise Hard Drive Bare Drive

EVGA 220-G2-0550-Y1 80 PLUS GOLD 550W ECO Mode Fully Modular NVIDIA SLI Ready and Crossfire Support Continuous Power

Pioneer Black Blu-ray Burner SATA BDR-209DBK

SilverStone Temjin Series TJ08B-E Black Aluminum front panel, steel body MicroATX Mini Tower Computer Case

Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit - OEM
SlowLane is offline  
Old 04-12-2016, 11:13 PM
  #689  
Excels at nothing
 
svtmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
Age: 54
Posts: 35,417
Thanked 2,464 Times in 1,349 Posts
My 7 year old Bloomfield i7 rig is still fast enough, so it's getting some minor upgrades:

- New case (Corsair 450d)
- 500GB SSD to replace a couple of RAID 1 300G Velociraptors that are too full.
- New more efficient power supply
svtmike is offline  
Old 04-13-2016, 01:41 PM
  #690  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
^ Nice! Buying good hardware means you can do a refresh instead of a complete rebuild...

I just ordered a refresh for my desktop i5 that is four years old (new, larger SSD for OS and a 2x8GB RAM kit to bring it from 8GB to 16).

In terms of the workstation build I mentioned above, I am just working out some memory issues before purchasing. I am trying to figure out if the memory controller in the 5820K can handle a 4x16GB RAM kit or if I need to go 8x8 to reach 64GB RAM.
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-14-2016, 04:19 AM
  #691  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25
Posts: 57
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by stogie1020 View Post
^ Nice! Buying good hardware means you can do a refresh instead of a complete rebuild...

I just ordered a refresh for my desktop i5 that is four years old (new, larger SSD for OS and a 2x8GB RAM kit to bring it from 8GB to 16).

In terms of the workstation build I mentioned above, I am just working out some memory issues before purchasing. I am trying to figure out if the memory controller in the 5820K can handle a 4x16GB RAM kit or if I need to go 8x8 to reach 64GB RAM.
The 5820k has had success with 128Gb of ram(8*16gb) Here is a link proving that.
Does the Intel i7-5820K support 128GB ram? ? vDrone
You should be just wine with 4 16gb stick with upgradability(new words FTW) to 8 sticks with the right motherboard.
Me2151 is offline  
Old 04-14-2016, 12:33 PM
  #692  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
Originally Posted by Me2151 View Post
The 5820k has had success with 128Gb of ram(8*16gb) Here is a link proving that.
Does the Intel i7-5820K support 128GB ram? ? vDrone
You should be just wine with 4 16gb stick with upgradability(new words FTW) to 8 sticks with the right motherboard.
Thanks, I saw that article and also a few other people posting system specs where they had a 4x16GB setup with the 5820.

the 5820 is only rated for 64GB of RAM, and since I need stability (a crash after 20 hours of data processing would be a real setback) I will probably limit it to 64GB. Plus, 128GB just seems rediculous, unless I am creating a RAMdrive, in which case I want at least 500GB .

On the Intel forum, no response to my 4x16 query...
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-15-2016, 12:11 PM
  #693  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
OK, above build out is ordered...
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-18-2016, 07:14 PM
  #694  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
Just received the refresh stuff for my desktop (not the i7 build above, that comes tomorrow).

16GB of RAM in a set of 2x8 (up from 8) and a 250GB Samsung 850 SSD (to replace the current 120GB SSD). I plan to re-install W7 fresh on the 250GB and then re-install all my programs, etc... I virtualized the current 120GB drive and have it bootable in VirtualBox so if I need to check anything or grab an ini file or a configuration, etc., I can just get it from the VM. I plan on keeping the original 120GB OS drive for a little while, but will probably re-purpose it for something, so having the VM of the drive is nice.

I just need to remember to arrange my desktop icons by "penis".
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-18-2016, 07:50 PM
  #695  
Excels at nothing
 
svtmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago
Age: 54
Posts: 35,417
Thanked 2,464 Times in 1,349 Posts
I transplanted my computer into its new case yesterday. Just have a couple odds and ends to finish the project:

- install USB 3.0 19-pin to USB 2.0 adapter so that I can use the USB ports on the top of the case
- replace SATA cables with right angle SATA cables. The old case had the drive interfaces toward the MB front side, and I used straight SATA connector cables. This one puts them toward the back side and pretty close to the case wall. I want to eliminate the pressure on the connectors.
- a prettier fan hub solution than the cheesy molex-to-fan header extenders that I slapped in there from my parts bin.

The case is much more open now since the cables are all behind the motherboard tray instead of in front of it. Case design has come a long way for thermal and cable management. I've got two 140's in front and a 120 on the bottom pushing air in, and two 140s on top and the CPU cooler 120 pushing it out. I figure all in all it's a positive pressure situation inside the case so I'll see if the dust stays out. There's a spot to add another 140mm fan to push air in on the bottom if it still gets dusty inside.

The sound quality from the 140 and 120 fans is much nicer than the previous 120 and 80 fans. I don't think the case is too much quieter though.

As always, replacing the disk drive was a breeze. New drive in, restore from my Windows server, and Bob's my uncle.
svtmike is offline  
Old 04-18-2016, 08:20 PM
  #696  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
^

nicely done!
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-21-2016, 03:45 PM
  #697  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
New i7 machine is built!




A bug :FU: to Coolermaster and MSI though...

Coolermaster insisted I use the wrong standoffs on a 2011-v3 board to mount the Hyper212evo, I may need to remove the cooler later and clean up the excess/messy thermal paste resulting from having to remove the heatsink several times...

MSI for giving me a effed up and incomplete diagram of the memory channels. I have since moved the four sticks of RAM to the 1, 2, 3, 4 slots to the left of the CPU and they all register as a total of 64GB. In 1, 3, 5, 7 as directed by MSI (kind of, lacking documentation), I saw 49GB of RAM.

Installing W7Pro now.

I only have the 256GB SSD in right now for the OS and programs. Later, will add a 2TB spinning platter drive and probably a 500GB M.2 drive (some of my programs prefer a super fast cache).

This case is awesome. VERY well thought out and put together. It's big, but it does not disappoint. Will probably pick up two more 120mm fans for the top fan cage that is just filtered venting right now.
stogie1020 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to stogie1020 For This Useful Post:
Mizouse (04-27-2016)
Old 04-21-2016, 03:49 PM
  #698  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Age: 39
Posts: 18,761
Thanked 959 Times in 593 Posts
Nice!
CocheseUGA is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to CocheseUGA For This Useful Post:
stogie1020 (04-21-2016)
Old 04-21-2016, 03:53 PM
  #699  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
nice
maharajamd is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to maharajamd For This Useful Post:
stogie1020 (04-21-2016)
Old 04-21-2016, 05:14 PM
  #700  
Senior Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
asianspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Photography Forum.
Posts: 24,966
Thanked 945 Times in 728 Posts
congrats.
asianspec is offline  
Old 04-21-2016, 05:49 PM
  #701  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
Crap.

Video card is bad.

Seated it in multiple PCI slots and the fan spins but the computer does not see it (device manager). Can't install drivers for it, etc.

It IS passing basic VGA adapter signal, so I have limited video resolutions, etc. I RMA'd with Newegg and they rushed the replacement out to me for delivery Tuesday.

I will let this one stay in the machine until the new one arrives, getting windows updates done, etc.

Oh well, it happens.
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-22-2016, 04:03 PM
  #702  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
Yay.

stogie1020 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to stogie1020 For This Useful Post:
Mizouse (04-27-2016)
Old 04-27-2016, 02:43 AM
  #703  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
new video card arrived and is installed. This machine is running nice and smooth...
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 09:57 AM
  #704  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
maharajamd is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 10:03 AM
  #705  
Moderator
 
thoiboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 37,038
Thanked 5,718 Times in 4,584 Posts
stogie: i would rotate the orientation around for the SSD so the wires can be tucked behind for a cleaner look
thoiboi is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 10:05 AM
  #706  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
I noticed that too. Also all that wasted space. Positive or negative air pressure Stogie?
maharajamd is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 10:38 AM
  #707  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Age: 39
Posts: 18,761
Thanked 959 Times in 593 Posts
Currently weighing my options for the next couple of years. My current build (listed below) is doing just fine. Since I don't really game, the capability hasn't been tested. But, with buying a MBP at some point this year, I may have the urge to have my desktop dual boot. So, Hackintosh-compatible. Not that I'll have any money to spend after buying Apple. The other option is to upgrade piecemeal. The graphics card is long overdue for an update, and I'd like to have something that will do HDMI or DisplayPort in two or three outputs. I need to replace the 8GB of RAM that's failed (apparently). I need to clear out space on the main SSD drive, or go bigger. I want to increase the capacity and reliability of the secondary drives. I also want a backup solution for multiple computers, which is obviously another project altogether.

2500K, stock. Cooled by either a H100i or H110i.
8GB (4GBx2) G-Skill Ripjaws 10666
Samsung 840 120GB main drive
Seagate 1.5TB secondary drive (hang in there!)
WD? 1TB backup drive
Radeon HD 6570 running two Acer H236HL BID

I think maybe the focus should be upgrading the main drive, backup box, then Hackintosh?
CocheseUGA is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 11:54 AM
  #708  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
Originally Posted by thoiboi View Post
stogie: i would rotate the orientation around for the SSD so the wires can be tucked behind for a cleaner look
I hear you, it would look cleaner. I prefer to be able to get to the data/power connections as needed though, without having to remove the other case cover. Since we are only talking about a small bit of data/power cable, I don't think the airflow is hampered much. There is now also a 2TB spinning platter drive on the bottom tray.

Originally Posted by maharajamd View Post
I noticed that too. Also all that wasted space. Positive or negative air pressure Stogie?
Airflow is as follows:

-Arrows are 120mm fans showing flow direction
-The two boxes at the top are spaces for 120-140mm fans. I may add them in later blowing fresh air into the top pf the case (or removing air.

One nice bonus to the large air volume is that it allows for a larger secondary heat sink (aka the air volume).

stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 12:03 PM
  #709  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
You want the top to remove air, not push it in. I was just curious what the internal pressure was.
maharajamd is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 06:10 PM
  #710  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
3 bar?
stogie1020 is offline  
Old 04-27-2016, 06:31 PM
  #711  
Moderator
 
Mizouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 56,230
Thanked 1,336 Times in 942 Posts
I miss building computers.


But then again I'm past that stage in my life.

I DO need to figure out a way to increase my storage capacity thou.

Currently using my 10 year old Core 2 Duo E6600 build as a file server.
It has about 5GB left out of 4TB
Mizouse is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 08:58 AM
  #712  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
Load it up... giant platter drives are cheap.
maharajamd is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 02:37 PM
  #713  
youtu.be/TejoMjHk3x0
 
#1 STUNNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 29,420
Thanked 3,474 Times in 2,086 Posts
How do you determine what the internal pressure of the case is and what is an ideal level?
#1 STUNNA is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 02:42 PM
  #714  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
maharajamd is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 02:44 PM
  #715  
Moderator
 
Mizouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Age: 34
Posts: 56,230
Thanked 1,336 Times in 942 Posts
Originally Posted by maharajamd View Post
Load it up... giant platter drives are cheap.
Not cheap enough
Mizouse is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 02:47 PM
  #716  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Age: 39
Posts: 18,761
Thanked 959 Times in 593 Posts
I think measuring air pressure is a bit obsessive.
CocheseUGA is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 03:50 PM
  #717  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts


Just have to do it once. Spend $1500+ on something where's the harm?
maharajamd is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 03:52 PM
  #718  
Banned
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Age: 39
Posts: 18,761
Thanked 959 Times in 593 Posts
Originally Posted by maharajamd View Post


Just have to do it once. Spend $1500+ on something where's the harm?
You don't have to do it at all.
CocheseUGA is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 03:53 PM
  #719  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
maharajamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 13,385
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,194 Posts
You don't have to add a comment either. Yet here we are.
maharajamd is offline  
Old 04-28-2016, 03:58 PM
  #720  
Needs more Lemon Pledge
 
stogie1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 46
Posts: 51,917
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,036 Posts
Originally Posted by CocheseUGA View Post
You don't have to do it at all.
I didn't, the "3 bar" was a joke. I have no idea what the air pressure is inside the case, nor do i really care! 10 minutes at full load and the processor cores never got above 57C. That's all I care about.
stogie1020 is offline  

Quick Reply: Computer Building Thread


Contact Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.