Money & Investing Learn how to get rich on the housing bubble and the bull market…

Stupid Government Taxes!

Old 02-15-2006, 08:32 AM
Chapter Leader
(Northeast Florida)

Received 1,651 Likes on 1,116 Posts
Stupid Government Taxes!

Well get this. I am an engineer for the Department of Defense. I do logistics and engineering for the Navy (I'm a civilian). My wife is a Naval Nurse (officer). We are DINKs (Dual Income, No Kids). We both claim, for tax purposes, married with 1 exemption each. Because of the damn state taxes I pay in Maryland, my wife brings in roughly $1000 more, PER PAYCHECK, than I do. Well, she gets paid twice a month, and for three months out of the year, I get paid three times a month. The other times I get paid twice a month. So I guess the difference is actually less than $1000 per paycheck. Nevermind the fact that I get paid $25,000 more per year than her gross.

The difference is because she claims her state of "residency" is Florida, she doesn't pay state taxes in Florida or Maryland. Man, sometimes it pays to be in the military!

Stupid state and government taxes!

::Rant Off::
Old 02-15-2006, 09:02 AM
Outnumbered at home

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I don't think that is mathmatically possible. MD state tax is less than 5% of your income. Don't think that is the difference if you make 25k more a year. You are probably in a higher tax bracket but that still would not let her bring more in.

and how do you get paid 3 times a month 3 times during the year. Do you get paid every 10 days or something? Most get paid every 2 weeks which gives you 2 times a year where you are paid 3 times in a month.

Last edited by 95gt; 02-15-2006 at 09:06 AM.
Old 02-15-2006, 09:09 AM
Outnumbered at home