Just purchased 06 TL, clutch burned out already!?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2011, 07:58 PM
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just purchased 06 TL, clutch burned out already!?!?!

Hey guys,

Im frequently on other forums, but new to this forum, just wanted to get some feedback from you guys since its my own personal experience...

I just purchased an 06 TL from a local dealer, 41,700 miles, 6MT. I had it since 2 saturdays ago, and all of sudden this past saturday, my clutch burns out. Mind you, I put about 400 miles in the past 2 weeks, but I never rode the crap out of it, I am a calm MT driver, and didnt do anything stupid of that nature. I did notice a few days after driving the car, if I push the gas a little harder than normal after releasing the clutch, it would high-idle then i guess you can say turn into gear. So this last saturday, Im going home with my fam, driving uphill to my house, and the car just shoots out of gear and high-idles all crazy. I get to my house and my car is smoking.

So the dealer calls me today and say the clutch is burned out, which I already knew. I knew the dealer would come back at me and say the clutch is wear and tear and not covered by warranty, and they sure did. So we are calling them back and forth, and ultimately, they said, the whole job is going to be 1900.00, they asking us to cover 600.00 of it.

At this point, being a CPO vehicle (so they say), and only for driving it for 400 miles, and me not driving like an idiot, is it really possible for me to have a burned clutch with that amount of driving? Again, I know its wear and tear, but damn, this sucks. Also, Im sure some are going to say, why didnt you bring it sooner once you felt something was not right, which I was planning to do the next week.