Throttle body spacer? Pros? Cons?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2009, 04:32 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Throttle body spacer? Pros? Cons?

So I ran into a buddy who has a TL who is on here, and can not find him. He suggested a "THROTTLE BODY SPACER" I searched google etc...and I am new with the TL so I am wondering the following:

What does this throttle body spacer do?

What do I buy the part?

For a person that is not so much of a DIY, How is the ease of install?

What are the pros and cons to this?
Old 08-16-2009, 05:50 PM
Rev High; Drive Happy

Received 398 Likes on 332 Posts
TBS is apparently supposed to help more cool air enter the IM---or something? I forgot lol

Buy from XLR8 [azine vendor]

Super easy to install.

I haven't noticed any pros with my TBS on...
Well. I should say that I haven't noticed much of a difference [from touch or feel from driving] with the TBS On.

But apparently one of the cons of having a TBS is that if you have an AEM intake.. there is a chance the bracket will rip off.
Old 08-16-2009, 07:01 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Whoever came up with this thing must be laughing at everyone that bought it...I need to come up with a useless part and bank off some people.
Old 08-16-2009, 07:59 PM
Burning Brakes

so it does nothing at all?
Old 08-16-2009, 08:12 PM
Rev High; Drive Happy

Originally Posted by davewhodavedunn
so it does nothing at all?
Pretty much. It just adds a little bling under the hood.
Old 08-16-2009, 08:26 PM
Burning Brakes

people claim it lowers the air temp to the engine...alot of ppl on here have them...so that is why I am wondering if it is worth the $$$
Old 08-16-2009, 08:26 PM
Burning Brakes

I am all for parts that are easy to install and some what cheap that add horsepower...any other suggestions?
Old 08-17-2009, 02:27 PM
Former Sponsor

Received 624 Likes on 478 Posts