Pulled the trigger on the supercharger!

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2009, 11:36 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Pulled the trigger on the supercharger!

I'm having the charger installed this Wednesday but I gotta admit, I'm a little nervous. I went and got the car dyno'd this weekend (229 whp) so I can see how much the supercharger will give me.

The thing that worries me is that the car is currently running lean. The AFR is 14.36. When I told him I was adding the supercharger, he told me that i would definitely need to lower that AFR.

Will I be able to increase the amount of fuel using the Comptech ACM or will I need to use the Emanage Ultimate (or Blue)?

I'm pretty new to all this so what else would a "tune" consist of besides correcting the AFR? Any comments/suggestions are appreciated!

I'll keep you guys posted on my thoughts of the supercharger after it's installed. I'm hoping to get it re-dyno'd in a couple weeks and will post numbers once I do.
Old 06-14-2009, 12:47 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts
Good news. I am planing to S/C my TL as well. The stock fuel pump will be compressed so when in boost you will get more fuel going in. Member here "I hate cars" which is very knowledgeable, suggested to add the 100% meth kit. That will take care of the detonation because the TL tends to run lean when in boost. Other option you have is if you have gas station that offer racing fuel - 100 octane. Mix 50/50 with 93 octane and you will be good to go.

I will wait for the experts to give more info on the subject.
Old 06-14-2009, 06:57 PM
Burning Brakes

Good luck with the supercharger. When are you getting it. I've read about the meth kit...what exactly is that? I'm assuming you have to refill it? Any idea how often?

So are you planning on trying to tune the car after the install? If so, which one were you planning on using and why?
Old 06-14-2009, 08:38 PM
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by apnorm