How to do Fiberglass Work

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2004, 06:08 PM
Pro

Received 8 Likes on 2 Posts
How to do Fiberglass Work

Anyone know of a good website with links or information on how to start working with fiberglass?

I am talking BASIC starting. I have never done it before.

Thanks
Old 07-29-2004, 06:50 PM
What your problem is?

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
I thought you started working on this already?? what happened??
Old 07-29-2004, 06:51 PM
What your problem is?

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Ask HQuakers, I think he was getting started into this...

http://www.acura-tl.com/forums/showt...iberglass+work
Old 07-30-2004, 06:26 AM
Drifting

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Originally Posted by DeathtoToasters
Anyone know of a good website with links or information on how to start working with fiberglass?

I am talking BASIC starting. I have never done it before.

Thanks
Most people I know that work with Fiberglass had some sort of formal training/certification.
Old 07-30-2004, 09:46 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just do a lot of searching on Google for how to work w/ fiberglass. I'm sure they have books on the subject too. Its simple in theory...lay strips of cloth (fiberglass) which are soaked in resin, lay it up in the shape you need it, it gets hard...viola! Just like the paper mache (sp?) that you did back in grade school.

The tricks of fiberglassing (besides the ability to set it right, mix the resin properly, etc...) is really in the creation of the mold or form that you need the fiberglass to take shape of. There are many tricks of trade so to speak. Definitely start w/ smaller projects and read up alot about how to make molds or frames to enforce a shape to your fiberglassing. It can be pretty time consuming especially if you are going to finish the surface smooth (you will do so much sanding you'll be sick of it).
Old 07-30-2004, 10:00 AM
Drifting

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts