JDM Headlight swap on 09 KB2, 2 issues, Need guidance

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2022, 07:11 PM
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb JDM Headlight swap on 09 KB2, 2 issues, Need guidance

Hello all, first off I'm new to the AcuraZine community but look forward to being an active member. Now to the reason for my first post! (BTW, I've searched for answers to both my issues and couldn't get something definitive, especially issue #1, so I apologize in advance if I am repeating a topic)

I recently swapped out my USDM headlights with a pair of JDMs. The JDMs I bought came completely pigtailed with all the lights, harnesses and equipment still in place. Therefore, I spliced in the turn signal's 7440 wiring harness into my vehicle, tested each light and everything worked. Even the HID low beam appeared to be more of a 8000k beam, which was fine by me. (This is where I may have made a mistake, since I tested everything without starting the engine but just turning on the headlights.)

After putting everything back together, I started my car to pull it into the garage and came across issue #1: I popped an AFS code! So I waited until night and drove around a bit and sure enough, no swivel in the beams (my old ones worked). So question #1: Is this simply bad luck and the control modules that swivel the low beams that came inside the JDMs are both shot? Or is it not simply a plug and play, and there needs to be some kind of reset for the AFS system? I'm really hoping I don't have to take my bumper off again, unmount the JDM headlights and try to swap out control modules from my USDM headlights.