Replacing Brakes and Rotors- HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2006, 10:53 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Replacing Brakes and Rotors- HELP!

I have searched and searched and read DIY after DIY before making this post. I want to replace the brakes and rotors on my 97 3.0 CL. I found one post that seemed to be promising, but alas, no pics in the place where pictures should be. I have a hydralic jack and jack stands. Had my car up on them and wheels off. Then I could not get the bolts on the brake calipers to budge. I have never replaced them before, is there something I need to make this job easier?

I am replacing them on the front and the back. About how long should it take me if I have never done it before? I am figuring that after the first one, I would get much faster and better. Is there some tips you could give me to make this easier? Reading the forums it seems like these things are a breeze, but I'm not seeing it.

I was able to download the manuals from the forums, but I cannot get them to open. I just want a visual reference for this job. ANY help would be great. Thanks.

Old 09-12-2006, 01:57 AM
HEET Miser

"Sometimes what you need to hear isn't what you want to hear."
i watched them do it to my cl -- i don't want to discourage you from diy's but, that particular job's a monster on this car. took these seasoned shop kids a few hours of furious bloodwork to do it w/o the press.
gl
Old 09-12-2006, 11:31 AM
'07 November = STI

here's how to replace brake pads.. its a tutorial for the Legend.. but hondas are pretty much alike..

http://24.96.59.129:8080/LEGENDtuner...brakepads.html

as for brake rotors.. i too haven't found any DIY.. sorry..
Old 09-12-2006, 01:00 PM
Senior Moderator
Regional Coordinator
(Mid-Atlantic)

Received 4,477 Likes on 3,070 Posts
Yet when I search, I find it

https://acurazine.com/forums/showthr...ighlight=rotor
Old 09-12-2006, 01:17 PM
'07 November = STI

Originally Posted by 97BlackAckCL