How often should I use clay?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2003, 05:26 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How often should I use clay?

Hi everyone, I hope this is not a repeat post....

I just clayed my car and used the Zaino wax on it-first time I've ever done this on any car-and it turned out so great! I mean, the paint might as well be glass, it's so smooth and shiny. As I'm new to this process, I wonder how often I should use the clay bar on my car? From what I've gathered, for a average driver, waxing it once a quarter should be sufficient. Would you recommend using the clay each time before I wax? And in that case, would it be okay to use the Dawn solution to wash my car each time before I use the clay? Thanks in advance for your input.
Old 09-17-2003, 05:56 AM
Suzuka Master

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Re: How often should I use clay?

Originally posted by bluesky
Hi everyone, I hope this is not a repeat post....

I just clayed my car and used the Zaino wax on it-first time I've ever done this on any car-and it turned out so great! I mean, the paint might as well be glass, it's so smooth and shiny. As I'm new to this process, I wonder how often I should use the clay bar on my car? From what I've gathered, for a average driver, waxing it once a quarter should be sufficient. Would you recommend using the clay each time before I wax? And in that case, would it be okay to use the Dawn solution to wash my car each time before I use the clay? Thanks in advance for your input.
1. If you maintain the wax, you'll never need to clay unless you get some severe water spots (acid rain) or other surface type deposits.

2. No, I wouldn't clay ever again if you maintain the wax. Wash with the Zaino car wash or another good brand, but DO NOT use Dawn again.

The Zaino site gives some great tips.