Griot's Garage orbital buffer review

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2006, 08:01 PM
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Griot's Garage orbital buffer review

Well, I've been dabbling in detailing on my Chrysler 300M for a couple years using a WaxMaster 7" orbital buffer, and I have to say, I've been getting decent results. But, since I am "getting the bug", I knew I was going to get a quality buffer someday. I'm not knocking the WaxMaster, compared to folks who only hand buff their vehicles, you're going to get much, much better results with the WaxMaster, and your car will look better than 95% of the cars out there that are waxed by their owners.

That said, however, once I started using clay, and going to a wash/clay/polish/wax routine rather than just the wash/wax routine most of the car-owning public uses, it was inevitable that I was going to want a better buffer. I was going to go for the PC, but there are a lot of backing plates and a vast array of buffer pad products to choose from, and I really don't want to do a lot of investigation. I want to be told what to get, preferably in a ready-to-go kit. Griot's sells their buffer with only two pads, polish and wax, and it comes with the backing plate on the machine (you don't chuck it in, like I imagine you do with the PC), so I thought it was right up my alley. . .KISS!

So, I called Griot's and got the buffer. Being in sales myself, I'm easily sold (most sales professionals suffer from this), so I got a huge kit including 3 polishing pads, a wax pad, hand polish and wax doofers, various terry towels, microfiber towels, and a couple of polish and wax products. I'm a big believer in most of your results come from the technique you bring to the game, not the products you use, so I didn't use the Griot's polish/wax, but opted to continue to use my existing stock of Meguiar's products.