Anyone "towel dry" after chamoising

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2003 | 07:56 PM
Manny Tranny

Anyone "towel dry" after chamoising

I used a 100% bath towel to dry the car after chamoising. I've never done this before and liked the fact I didn't have to really go over the surface with the chamois multiple times. The towel picked up the remaining droplets.

Anyone do this? Is is safe for the paint surface?
Old 04-07-2003 | 08:20 PM
Lucky Ole' Shamrock

if you blot the water droplets then you are fine, but if you swipe you are risking scratching the surface of the paint.
Old 04-07-2003 | 09:16 PM
Lone CL-P Owner

your best bet is to get a california water blade for 20$ then use the chamois after. dont use the chamois too much and you wont risk scratching the car.
Old 04-08-2003 | 07:36 AM
Manny Tranny

Originally posted by acuraman32cl
your best bet is to get a california water blade for 20$ then use the chamois after. dont use the chamois too much and you wont risk scratching the car.
acuraman32cl - I've seen comments on these water blades before.

With all the concern of contact on the surface, isn't this just as risky?

When you chamois after water blade, are you sliding the chamois over the surface, or just blotting to absord remaining moisture?

Thanks for the knowledge!
Old 04-08-2003 | 08:29 AM
Where is my super sauce?

I use a silicone water blade myself. Yes, you do run it over the surface and I'm sure I get micro-scratches from it, and I'm sure you can get the same micro-scratches from a chamois or anything you touch the surface of your car with. If you want to minimize contact of any material to your car then you have to consider the Shawn S method of the power leaf blower, and blow dry that water away.
Old 04-08-2003 | 05:08 PM
an adult perspective

after time, the chamois will pull the wax off the car.
Old 04-08-2003 | 09:53 PM
Homeless

I have a super-plush bath towel($15) with high thread count to dry off after chamois. It works excellent.