Technology Get the latest on technology, electronics and software…

Software Consultant - what's a good career move?

Old 02-28-2010, 03:01 PM
Three Wheelin'

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Software Consultant - what's a good career move?

So a little bit of background. I started out as a Systems Engineer at a defense company doing high level object oriented design and requirements gathering. After a year or so, moved onto one of the big IT companies to do some middleware stuff for high performance computing, mostly doing c/c++ and some perl.

A few years later had to look for a new job due to family and location, worked briefly at an ecommerce/retail company doing some Java, Javascript, HTML, didn't feel right for me so I switched to my current job

Now I'm a software consultant for a financial software company, not really doing much real programming but more implementation, customization, support. Been there for almost a couple of years but would really like to get away from support. I know we have quite a bit of IT ppl on this board, just wanted to see what everyone's thoughts are regarding what's a potential or logical next step for me? I really want to get away from the support side of things and get into something more stable (less traveling, more regular hours, etc). I thought about getting back into development but haven't done any real languages for 2 years it seems a bit hard to convince the employers.

So far it seems like my resume has been attracting either support or c/c++ type of jobs. Any ideas on what are some other opportunities I can get into? Perhaps QA?
Old 02-28-2010, 05:41 PM
Registered Member

Received 162 Likes on 102 Posts