Money & Investing Learn how to get rich on the housing bubble and the bull market…

First Credit Card

Old 08-15-2007, 12:47 PM
@ slide or die @

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Post First Credit Card

I'm a college student, with sucky income (under 10k) and all I have right now is a linked checkings account under my mom, whom is also linked under my father. I've been getting all these letters in the mail to apply for a CC and being an Engineering major, I don't know ANYTHING about interest, points, APR (don't even know what this means) etc etc etc.

I need to build a credit so you see my dilemma in choosing a bank/card with good everything, that's not going to be expensive and offer some sort of rewards...but most importantly cheap/low cost. Now, I am not in need of money I’ll probably build credit buying school books, parts for TL who knows, but never put myself in debt.

I have this Blue AMEX letter with 0% interest, 0%apr for the first 15mo and 17% after that. 20days grace period w/ a "finance charge" sounds like a terrible deal so please if any of you know or have a great bank please post up.

I appreciate the help and apologize for my incompetence in these matters. As an engineer I don’t know how I could ever compete with someone who's specialty is making money, handling money, investing, financing, banking, money, money money

-etxx
Old 08-15-2007, 01:00 PM
Big White Chocolate

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
It'll be difficult for you to get a credit card with a good rate/reward considering you're a student (no/low income and little to no credit history). The only reason companies will give you one is because the terms are bad for you.