New owner & few questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2014 | 08:05 AM
Cruisin'

New owner & few questions

Hello guys, first post here!

Just zeroed in on a brand new 2014 Acura ILX Dynamic in Crystal Black Pearl (in Canada, so comes with all trim features standard) as well as Aero Kit (OEM spoiler + front, side and read underbody kit) and tinted windows. These mods are all I'm shooting for, at least short-term.

I am quite thrilled by the car, been eyeing it for a long time. I especially like that it projects a somewhat premium - but not pretentious - image. Also, I barely see any around so having a "rare" model is very enticing to me (interestingly, it seems to make heads turn, not just mine, whenever I see one).

Now, please pardon my "rookie-ness", but on to some questions:

1) Concerning debadging. I've never done it to any car before and haven't found ILX-specific info about this. I'm not planning on removing the "A" logo but definitely the dealership crest and probably the ILX as well. From what I gather, heating it up with a hairdryer should make the letters come loose, then use adhesive dissolver and dental floss behind to pry them off, and then use more dissolver to finish it off (as per http://www.wikihow.com/Debadge-Your-Car). Does any adhesive dissolver work? The only thing I currently have at home that resembles that is Lighter Fluid but something tells me that would not be good to use on the car paint. Any advice is welcome here.

2) Background image for center display: I've prepared a nice 1680 x 936 pixels image to put in there, however I feel like this ratio isn't right for the 8-inch display. Can anyone confirm proper resolution? Also, does the image display as a splashscreen upon starting the car or only when you set it to display "Wallpaper" instead of other display options?