2016 ILX clicking/clacking when accelerating

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2015, 07:01 PM
Instructor

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
2016 ILX clicking/clacking when accelerating

Has anybody come across this issue with the 2016 ILX? After my breaks have been switched out and my first oil change and inspection, whenever I press my gas pedal, the moment it starts accelerating, it clicks below me. Kind of as if something was loose, and when force is added to the parts, it clicks into place. Hard to explain, but the closest I can think of to what it sounds like is when you go reverse and break, and then you decide to go forwards and your break pads shift and create a clicking sound. But this seems to be coming from either the rear or below me. I'm not a mechanic or a guru whatsoever, so any help is appreciated. I will call service to see if they can check it out too.
Old 09-22-2015, 09:15 AM
_

Received 3,097 Likes on 1,867 Posts
Originally Posted by peti1212
Has anybody come across this issue with the 2016 ILX? After my breaks have been switched out and my first oil change and inspection, whenever I press my gas pedal, the moment it starts accelerating, it clicks below me. Kind of as if something was loose, and when force is added to the parts, it clicks into place. Hard to explain, but the closest I can think of to what it sounds like is when you go reverse and break, and then you decide to go forwards and your break pads shift and create a clicking sound. But this seems to be coming from either the rear or below me. I'm not a mechanic or a guru whatsoever, so any help is appreciated. I will call service to see if they can check it out too.
If this clicking noise started after you got your brakes serviced, then I'd start looking there. Maybe the brake pads weren't installed correctly/properly and are loose. Maybe it's a loose caliper.

Attachment 101323
Old 09-22-2015, 09:17 AM
16 SSM ILX Prem-Aspec

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by peti1212