I need a new bed/mattress - advice?

Old 10-13-2008, 08:22 AM
Q('.')=O

Received 721 Likes on 521 Posts
I need a new bed/mattress - advice?

I'm moving into a new apartment this Friday and I need a new bed (mattress/boxspring/frame) but I'm clueless to how to really shop for one because it's my first time. I had a full bed in college but that one was way old so we trashed it. Then I moved back home to save some $$$ and have been using my old twin bed from forever ago. Now I since I'm moving I need something a little bigger. I'm looking for either a full or queen, most probably queen. I take up little space on the mattress (don't roll around) but my gf will be sleeping over sometimes so that's why a queen is prolly better. I'm not too picky regarding mattresses and all that soft/firm/foam stuff I just need something decent and preferably on the cheap side .

From what I've researched so far, this is what I have found regarding bed shopping:

-All mattresses are pretty much the same just named/priced different at different places
-Don't go to a department store (I was planning on going to a mattress store after work)
-Make sure you lay on it for atleast a few min to see if you like it

Any other info I should know? I need to get it within the next few days... because I'm moving in this Friday!
Old 10-13-2008, 08:28 AM
Big White Chocolate

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
I bought a Tempurpedic and couldn't be happier. I know it doesn't fit your "on the cheap side" requirement, but keep this in mind: You'll spend more time in your bed than anything other piece of furniture. It's totally worth it to get a good mattress, which are like shoes -- what may fit one person may not fit another. With the economy the way it is, you should have no problem finding some good payment plans (I got 3 years no interest financing, which made paying for it less expensive per month than my cell phone.)
Old 10-13-2008, 11:39 AM
Registered but harmless

Received 1,149 Likes on 775 Posts