Basement leak issues in new construction

Old 04-18-2011, 09:30 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Basement leak issues in new construction

I've been reading up online as much as I can about causes of wet basements, but nothing in regards to how to tackle the issue in brand new homes. ie. legal action. I reside in a town near Paramus, NJ for the purposes of locale.

I've been residing in this new construction home since Oct 2009. It's been through its heavy rainfall in 2010 and this past winters' snow hell. Just this past weekend as well as the previous heavy rainfall about a month ago, the basement had a trickle of water running down the middle of the floor. It seems to be coming from the files of the finished basement. I gouged several holes in the drywall to see if any mold may have spread on the interior walls, but nothing. The sump pumps are working fine, I have a main + backup in the furnace room as well as another one outside.

After the first leak, I resealed the exterior joint where the foundation meets the ground sealed with concrete caulk. I also replaced the main sump pump with a bigger one and swapped the battery and warning systems at the same time. Then this past week came along and found an even larger pool of water down the middle of the floor. Sump pump was working fine, and the water seemed to seep from the same spot.

I've notified my builder who quickly says well it's probably the sump pump. I said no. He hasn't returned my calls. My next two steps are to attempt to go through the NJ New Home Warranty program (which has been less than stellar) to see if this is an issue covered under sewer/plumbing. If that doesn't work, I'll contact a lawyer. meanwhile I'm in for a wet spring as it seems now. I've come here for real life experiences and troubleshooting methods I am overlooking.

Last edited by noshow_nogo; 04-18-2011 at 09:39 PM.
Old 04-18-2011, 09:54 PM
B A N N E D

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Originally Posted by noshow_nogo