Health & Fitness You're fat. Get skinny…

Help with Chest

Old 04-01-2008 | 04:44 AM
Stop Drop and Roll

Help with Chest

Whats up? I never knew there was a fitness forum here. Anyways, I have been lifting on and off for the past 5 years and consistently for the past year (4-5 times a week). I have the biggest problem strengthening my chest, building mass and gaining definition. My goal is to gain strength and weight but not be too bulky. Try to imagine like a basketball players figure. I am 5'10, 163 lbs and would like to get somewhere between 165-170. On the days I work out my chest, I also do abs. Any tips on what I should do differently or try?

Here is my routine. Sometimes I switch to some other random chest exercise if the gym is busy and the machine/bench/bells are being used by someone else. I also prefer not to use the bar because my shoulder has been popping a lot lately and I dont have a spotter.

Incline Dumbbell press: 3 sets, 10,10,8
Flat Dumbbell press: 3 sets, 10,10,8
Decline Dumbbell press: 3 sets, 10,10,8
Pec Fly on machine: 3 sets. 12,10,8
Cable Machine with the D handle??? (highest point) where your hands start far away and meet in the middle. 3 sets, 12,10,8

Any suggestions? my chest sucks!
Old 04-01-2008 | 12:05 PM
Midwest TSXer

On the days I work out my chest, I also do abs. Any tips on what I should do differently or try?