Starter car

Old 08-28-2010, 08:53 PM
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Starter car

Hi, i'm not going to beat around the bush, i'm still a fairly new driver with decent skills, and i'm going to learn manual next month. Now obviously i'm not going to buy a car with manual tranny straight away, but i'm just wondering if it is an extremely bad idea to buy like, say, an Integra GSR or even Type R as my first car. Yeah the wise decision would be to start off with a beater Civic or something, but the thing is, i really want to play around with it, tinker with mods on both interior and exterior, basically to buy a ride to keep for many years to come, and i dont want to buy a car i wont' like and know that i wont be still owning it in a year or two later.

I really want an Integra, it is like my dream car. I'm just wondering if its that much harder to drive a 150+ hp car, compared to a 100-110 hp, for every day driving. I swear i'm not a fast driver, but i like to have the power on hand. SOme of you would probably say it is such a waste to drive a car like a GSR in urban traffic, or driving cautiously/slowly, but that is what i'd like to do.

Also if i'm in small tight spaces like an underground parking, and i keep it in first or second gear, even if the car is powerful, its not like a tap of the gas would send it screeching forward, correct? So is there a great difference in a faster, more powerful car when you're driving controlled and slow?

Thanks for reading, i know theres a lot of questions in there but there is a lot i would like to know, before actually jumping behind the wheel of an Integra
Old 08-28-2010, 09:16 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 740 Likes on 309 Posts
Buy any Japanese (Honda/Toyota/Nissan) late model manual. They are among the easiest to learn to drive on, and cheap to fix if you screw something up
Old 08-28-2010, 09:31 PM
3rd Gear

I think I'll only consider Acura, 95-2001, or civic if i really have to (great mileage, cheap maintenence).