Just got the XM Commander for Christmas...

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2004 | 04:51 AM
Move toward the window...

Just got the XM Commander for Christmas...

I got the XM commander as a Christmas gift, and I plan on having it installed by a professional in the area (I'm a complete electronics novice) I've got two questions.

1. I absolutely do not want it to be FM Modulated, so I'm planning on buying the Blitzsafe HON adaptor thingy. Is this the correct purchase for my TSX with Navi, and are there any additional products I need to buy before I have everything installed?

2. Do any of you know of a reliable installer in the Southern California area?

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-26-2004 | 12:18 PM
I may be fat but I'm slow

I am doing the same thing...have the Blitzsafe adaptor, just make sure you get the Navi-specific one. As far as other things, you will need the cord to attach the commander to the blitzsafe, but that should be $10 at Best Buy. Also, you may want to consider a line driver (you can get one for $35 or so at Logjamelectronics.com) because apparently without it the xm isn't that loud. As far as installers, sorry, don't know any out there. Good Luck.
Old 12-26-2004 | 08:27 PM
2004 CG TSX w/ At & NAV

congrats on gettin the commander. i love mine and it is fm mod until i get some cash for the rca adapter. anyways. one recomendation...check out my install in the upper storage compartment below the cd player. it is clean and u can still close the door to hide it when not in use. my dealer asked where i got it done and i told them i did it and they started having people call me to make them the trim plates for the install lol. anyways good luck ull love xm. also....you will get better reception placing the antenna tucked in between the dash and the windshield in front of the driver side a-piller in front of the tweeter. its better than on the rear deck. enjoy!
Old 12-26-2004 | 08:40 PM

whoseanthony,