Time for new brakes

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2009, 02:23 AM
2012 TL Tech

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Exclamation Time for new brakes

Ok so for the first time since i bought it brand new, my brakes made " the sound" when I was stopping tonight. I'm completely new to mods and everything so I have a plethra of questions. I want to put some 20's on my TL and was curious, in order to maintain the incredable braking power that this veh came with do I just need to go back to factory stuff? I was under the inpression that I needed bigger rotors if I moved of my rim size. The only name I keep hearing is Brembo! So many questions. Please help.
Old 11-30-2009, 11:25 AM
Racer

the first thing we need to know is if you have a 6mt or a 5at because they different set-ups
Old 11-30-2009, 12:06 PM
2012 TL Tech

It's a 5at.
Old 11-30-2009, 02:19 PM
Advanced

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by 07TLFIXITUP
...I was under the inpression that I needed bigger rotors if I moved of my rim size. The only name I keep hearing is Brembo! So many questions. Please help.
Opposite. If you want to go with significantly bigger brakes (rotors and aftermarket calipes) you will need to get larger diameter rims to clear these new brakes.

You can certainly run larger rims with the stock AT brakes you have now. However there are two drawbacks.

One is the the look. Big rims creates more space between the inside of the rims and the brake rotor, making your brakes look tiny. You have the AT, which has smaller front rotors and calipers than the MT. Good thing about this is you can run almost any rim you want without clearance problems, whereas the MT with the stock Brembos can only run certain rims due to clearance issues.