Lowering questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2012 | 10:10 PM
Advanced

Lowering questions

Alright so i plan on lowering my car on coilovers this spring. I know people are gonna say search but I am a complete noob at suspension and cant understand half the things people say when they talk about suspension. So here are the questions

1. Whats the difference between the tein SS and the tein advance coilovers?

2. When i lowered my G on springs it only needed a rear camber kit, how would the TL go?

3. When I lower my car how do I know what kind of alignment is needed? Or will the alignment shop know what to do?

Thanks!
Old 03-26-2012 | 11:22 PM
AZ Community Team

2. May need front camber too. Depends how low you go. The rear will definetly go out of camber spec first.

3. The shop will know what you need and should try to get Toe close to zero on all 4 corners, caster in spec for the front (no rear caster, iirc) and there is nothing they can do with camber - we have no stock camber adjustment at all.

As far as I can gather I'm pretty typical for the amoun of drop I have. I'm at ~1.3 inches and the front Toe, Caster and Camber are OK. The Camber is bit off the target, but in spec. On the rear, Toe is OK, 1 side camber is in spec, but barely. The other side Camber is out of spec, but just barely.

If I lowered the car further, the camber would get progressively farther out of spec. Or, if I have a load in the trunk, it will pull the camber more out spec.
Old 03-27-2012 | 12:48 AM
Proud owner of a...

Tein coilovers are performance oriented, which means they are made to last very long and to give you a harsh ride.

For a performance perspective, you cannot go too low with coilovers. That gives your shorter suspension traveling distance and big droops, which means your car will corner terribly.

If you just want to slam your car, get a set of lowering springs.
Old 03-27-2012 | 12:57 AM
Drifting

Originally Posted by serbj