Help Picking Out New Tires (235/45/17)

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2011 | 03:35 PM
Coolest A-zine Member

Talking Help Picking Out New Tires (235/45/17)

Hey guys, haven't been over here in awhile as I frequent the audio section...but I need some new tires and I know nothing haha. I was wondering if I could get some help on which are best for my situation and climate. I live in Oklahoma where it's can 120 and then snowing the next day. We don't get "too" much snow but it'll come 2-3 times every winter. I'm sure a dry/wet tire will be fine. I'm also a college student and don't drive a ton but I'd like a quiet ride that will last me and not cost an arm and a leg. I don't need a performance tire as I don't plan on doing any kind of performance stuff to the TL. Also, it seems like I need a bunch of stuff done soon so I don't want to use up all kinds of money on the tires. I'll be needing tires, new pads/resurface rotors, battery (big one for audio too!) and oil change within the next week. That's why I'm here...b/c I know you all know the in's and out's and can help me quickly.

Here's 235/45/17 on DiscountTire.com as they are local and I'm sure they're the cheapest...right?

http://www.discounttire.com/dtcs/tog...fcb=*&sw=false

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I see a lot of chatter about the Conti DW/DWS (not sure which is better) but they look like they can be had for $140ish per tire. Not too shabby I guess if it's going to last me a LONG time. Right now I have Yokahama Avid w4s and, it might be that they are getting bald or the alignment, but I find them to be a little noisy for speeds over 40-45mph. Anyways...thank for the helps guys!
Old 10-28-2011 | 04:02 PM
Safety Car

http://www.discounttire.com/dtcs/fin...=OKOINT&cs=235

DWS. no questions asked.

---

maybe this will help you weigh out your options