Time to Replace brakes and rotors

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2006, 04:32 PM
Previous Owner

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Time to Replace brakes and rotors

I'm looking for some opinions as to what I should do.

My brakes are almost marginal, I've had them for about 29,500 miles now and will need replacing. The rotors are warped as well. The dealership said that they could machine the rotors for me and replace the brakes. The current special on the brake job is like $160 to $170.

Excelerate is running a special on Rotora slotted rotors and H2 ceramic pads. It may cost $450 to replace the entire set. plus installation.

I'm a casual driver, no tracks stuff or racing anyone. What would you guys recommend as a long term solution?
Old 05-11-2006, 04:54 PM
Registered Member

Received 162 Likes on 102 Posts
Based upon your driving style and apparent needs, go with your first selection. I just replaced my front pads on my '04 TL manual (Brembos) a few weeks ago and my primary concern, besides stopping ability, was low dusting. I don't race or rag my TL either, so truly hi-performance pads were not my first choice.
Old 05-11-2006, 04:57 PM
Administrator

Received 1,012 Likes on 577 Posts
That sounds like a really good price at the dealer for original equipment replacements and labor.

I find the brakes to be great for my normal driving conditions, much like yours, and for the difference in price I wouldn't even consider upgrading.
Old 05-11-2006, 05:39 PM
Previous Owner

I'm leaning towards the OEM route as well. If the $170 includes the machining, parts and labor, that's a really great deal for another 30K miles. I'm just wondering how much longer would my rotors last. Another 30k? even after being machined?
Old 05-11-2006, 06:04 PM
Administrator

Received 1,012 Likes on 577 Posts
Now that you mention it again, I must ask why they need to machine the rotors. I have driven a lot of cars a lot of miles and I don't think I have ever had my rotors turned.