No start. Cranks, fuel pump primes but no start

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2016, 12:45 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No start. Cranks, fuel pump primes but no start

Hello,

Im new to Acura's and since Ive owned my 2004 TL automatic, Ive frequented and gained some useful information off this site. Now that Ive owned mine for about 4 months and have come across a serious issue, its time to join.

Heres whats up: I bought the 2004 TL about 4 months ago. it had about 150k miles on it. Since the day Ive owned it, its performed perfectly with no issues other than needing new brake pads, rotors and regular oil/filter change. So, yesterday, I was really low on gas and started the car to take it to the gas station about 1.5 miles up the street. It started up fine, then as I was exiting our neighborhood it began idling super low then died. Of course my first thought was I had ran the tank empty. It started back up and I rushed the car to the gas station. I turned it off, filled it up (premium of course) then started it backk up and went to the grocery store about another mile away. It drove fine as usual but when I got into the parking space it it started idling low again and died. It would not restart and I had to get it towed home. It cranks and cranks but doesnt start.

After a lot of research I went out and removed the cover to the fuel pump and had my son turn the key to 'ON' I could hear the fuel pump prime for about 2 seconds. Then he turned the key to start and the engine cranked and cranked but wouldnt start. While it was cranking, the fuel pump made no noise. It only made noise during initial prime. So, if it primes, but doesnt pump during cranking, I thought maybe the relay is faulty?