High mileage 05 TL timing belt fail options

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2019, 09:53 AM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
High mileage 05 TL timing belt fail options

Newbie here in search of a sanity check. Hope I landed in the right section.

My TL timing belt failed this week, bad situation all around. Mechanic replaced belt at 110k and I knew it needed to be done again but I pushed my luck and didn’t prioritize getting the car back in for another TB. Car has 235k miles I bought it 8 years ago at 60k

Mechanic says cam shaft is stuck and new engine is only option.

should I really consider a new engine at this stage of the game, or just let her go?

other than the TB car is in pretty good shape. Needs a new axle maybe but everything else brakes tires good shape.

if I have to let her go is there anything I can do other than take it to the junk yard?
Old 07-07-2019, 09:59 AM
Cruisin'

Sorry here is my first post in beginners forum with a little additional info. Just read that I shouldn’t post tech questions there.

Good morning all,

Long time lurker here, first time poster. I wish it was under different circumstances, but my 05 TL with 6sp manual transmission timing belt failed this week and left me stranded.

I would appreciate thoughts in where to post to get some info about my options. None are good obviously but it was my daily driver and I commute 100 miles a day so I have to do something quick.

Mechanic first offered to replace timing belt to see what the damage was and if too far gone he’d credit me for the belt and charge me labor. He did that but said the cam shaft is stuck and not moving and said the only option is a new engine which he quoted $2500 parts and labor.

the car has 235k miles on it. Love it to death but if I have to dump it I will face the consequences for my stupidity

Old 07-07-2019, 10:04 AM
Cruisin'

The video shows the cam shaft locked but I couldn’t upload it
Old 07-07-2019, 11:01 AM
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts