07 Acura TL auto 116k engine problem

Old 05-09-2018, 05:26 PM
10th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
07 Acura TL auto 116k engine problem

I’m new to this stuff so bare with me.

I have a white 2007 Acura TL automatic.

My car has been running great with no issues at all. Today while cleaning it, I heard pulses coming from the exhaust but no smoke. I went up towards the from and saw the Rpm go from 1500 to around 2400 as if it were going to stall. The temperature gauge had went up slightly. I turned it off to check the engine bay and saw no smoke coming from anywhere.

When I try to start it, it take a while to crank over and when it does, it pretty much stalls out. I’m prepared for the worst about the timing belt even though I thought these cars use chains.

I spoke with a few people and this is what I got

-timing belt snapped
-water pump went bad
-bad gas
-bad ignition

any ideas?
What should be my first steps to finding out what happened?
is there an easy way for me to check the timing belt to see if it broke?

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-09-2018, 06:34 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 1,687 Likes on 1,303 Posts
yeah take the TB cover off and check the belt. all V6 Honda use timing belt, without video we can't tell what your TL is doing so ask us to diagnostic almost impossible.
Old 05-10-2018, 06:13 AM
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I don't think it is the timing belt.
Maybe the PCM got wet.
Old 05-10-2018, 07:39 AM
Burning Brakes

Received 136 Likes on 109 Posts
Originally Posted by Julius17
I’m new to this stuff so bare with me.

I have a white 2007 Acura TL automatic.

My car has been running great with no issues at all. Today while cleaning it, I heard pulses coming from the exhaust but no smoke. I went up towards the from and saw the Rpm go from 1500 to around 2400 as if it were going to stall. The temperature gauge had went up slightly. I turned it off to check the engine bay and saw no smoke coming from anywhere.