What is a dry flow filter for AEM CAI?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2007 | 07:34 PM
think + rest will follow

What is a dry flow filter for AEM CAI?

Hello everyone, I just purchased a new AEM CAI for my 05 tl AT on ebay. In the box there is everything but I am confused about the filter. The filter looks like it made of paper. Is this dry flow filter or not? My friend drives 04, nissan 350Z, he has Injen CAI but he is runnig a short ram intake. His car filter looks like it made of steel or something, it is hard when you touch it. He told me that your filter looks cheap and it will not last you for a long time. He also told me that that you should run a SRI becasue of the rain otherwise you car will h20. I live in Columbus, OH and I didn't care for the rain since it don't pour a lot here. Is my friend telling me truth or what? I am a car NOOB and don't know anything about it. so please help me.
Old 05-08-2007 | 07:52 PM
.43g at 900+fps

your friend has no idea what he is talking about. the aem dryflow is a very good filter. and don't worry about the rain. in order to hydrostatic lock your engine, you have to submerge the filter. so unless you plan on driving through any lakes or streams, don't worry about it.

ps- the aem dryflow filter has been brutally tested at the baja 1000. while everyone else had to carry spare filters, the aem dryflow made the whole run on one filter. do some research before you listen to your numbnuts friend. the internet is a powerful weapon
Old 05-08-2007 | 10:57 PM
.:KCCO:.

uhm ya, ur friend is not a smart one. he does not know what he is talking about.