CAI's - Solution to water concerns and changing out your filter as often!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2010, 10:39 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CAI's - Solution to water concerns and changing out your filter as often!!

I have been wanting to post this information since I starting reading threads about how so many people are concerned with water and there CAI's as well as the concerns of changing the filters on them! I finally got my AEM V2 yesterday so I am finally able to share this Info!!

I am lucky enough to live in the same town that the below product in manufactured and sold. I have been using these pre-filters for the past several years on everything from my 625HP 1969 Camaro to my boat and truck! They perform awesome and cut down your need to change/clean your filters dramatically as well as being WATER-RESISTANT!!

I have included pictures of the Red one I picked up this morning (many colors available). It was a small investment of 29 dollars which will save me on filter replacement over and over, plus give you fellow TL owners the peace of mind we want against water near our CAI Filters!!!

I hope this information is useful and everyone sees this as being a great investment and modification to your CAI like I do!

If you find yourself wanting one of these call Outerwears at 1-800-967-3450

Old 05-06-2010, 10:43 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
So do you wash the pre filter when it gets dirty?
Old 05-06-2010, 10:46 AM
AZ Community Team

Received 7,770 Likes on 4,341 Posts
Personally, I don't see the point.

MY CAI filter is washable. Easy-Peasey to remove wash and replace. No need for a new filter for quite a long time.

Also, "Water Resistant" isn't going to help you if you submerge the filter; and it's the submersion thats trouble on a CAI, not a bit of rain or splash.

Finally, I'd wonder about how this affects airflow; if it's a restriction, that's not good.

:skeptical:
Old 05-06-2010, 10:52 AM
Instructor