Is DVD-Audio a Dead-End format?

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2006, 02:19 AM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is DVD-Audio a Dead-End format?

Is DVD-Audio a Dead-End format? In my humble opinion: yes.

I have had by '06 TL for about 3 weeks now, and the sound system is awe inspiring! I really love it. The surround system add amazing depth, and the speakers are well balanced, it sounds like you are there.

Unfortunately, it does not play my mp3 disks. I knew this before I bought it. I have been driving a car with mp3 for about 5 years now, and I love the fact that I can put 11 hours of music on a disk, and it display the artist and title of the song while playing. I keep my CDs safe at home without danger of damaging them. And I download podcasts of my favorite radio shows and listen to them when I am driving.

But the TL does have the ability to play DVD-Audio. Thanks to a lot of people on this forum, I have succeeded in copying a small stack of my CDs to a single DVD-Audio. The sound quality is great, but in the end this format just does not stack up; I believe DVD-Audio is a dead end. Why?
  • No song titles are displayed. We can forgive the original CD format designers who, in the days of black vinyl, did not forsee how multiple forms of digital information could be placed together in the stream. But DVD-Audio was invented in the days of DVD. It is unforgivable that they did not forsee that a small amount of metadata stored with the song would be valuable. I guess they did not realize that the "V" in DVD stands for "versatile".
  • No song album, artist, year, genre, etc. No way to sort or filter songs according to your mood or whim.
  • No compression. While some purists are critical of the lossy compression of an MP3, there are lossless compressions freely available which would give you at least double the playing time on the same media.