Crackle in the Navi system

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2011, 10:50 PM
Racer

Received 32 Likes on 23 Posts
Crackle in the Navi system

Ok i know i am a noob to begin with.
But i have an 04 WDP 5AT that i just got a couple months ago. It has the factory navigation system. The voice feature on the system is practially useless for the navi. When I type in a destination, the front center speaker comes on as if it were about to say, turn left in 3 miles, but instead it just crackles like there is a horrible connection. Everything else in the car works fine in terms of electronics. Bluetooth is fine. But it can not say anything back from the navi. It will also crackle if i press the voice buttons for the navi on the steering wheel.
The only other symptom is that the whole navigation system will reset itself at any given time when i am just driving down the road. It will cycle through the startup process saying Acura navigation with the OK button following.
The system works fine otherwise.

I know this may seem very unclear. Let me know if there is anything else i can do to clear this up a little. Thanks for helping a noob.
Old 07-25-2011, 01:30 PM
Racer

bump for an old problem that is still not fixed:/
Old 07-25-2011, 07:50 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,989 Likes on 1,412 Posts
There's good news and bad news.

The Bad: It's your navi drive failing and it's about 3,000 dollars for a new one.

The GOOD!

You can send in the dvd drive to alpine and they will fix ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING on it for 200 dollars. They take a bit of time to fix it up but it works well! Just search ALPINE here and you'll pull up a few threads in the 3G TL area on folks sending it in.

Also a few members have said that if you leave your old disk in the drive that they will send it with a new one, or return it to you without a disk and you just call them and tell them the unit was sent in with a disk and came back without one! FYI the disk's MSRP is 185 dollars!
Old 07-26-2011, 07:49 AM