Burak's Audio Install .

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2008, 05:12 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Burak's Audio Install .

Hello All,

After spending almost 2 weeks I finally finished my install. I have read almost all custom audio instal threads here and added a little bit of my knowledge and I am extremely happy with the result. I would like to tahnk everyone for their contributions to this great site.

Here is the components of my system,

Front Components : Image Dynamics CTX65 CS
Rear Coaxials : Polk MOMO MMC 650
Subwoofer : Alpine Type R 12"
Amp for the speakers Alpine PDX-4.100
Sub Amp :Alpine PDX-1.600
RF 360.2 Sound processor
Knuconcepts amp wiring kit and speaker wires

I started my project with building a custom enclosure for the subwoofer. This was a very time consuming project since I have never done anything like this before (except repairing motorcycle fairing, but this is littler different)

First I taped the corner of the trunk with painters tape(3 layers) then added a layer of resin then fiberglass mat. After 2 layers this is what I ended up with.

I put a couple of more layers of resin and mat to reach the thickness I wanted. Then I started to cut the rings for the subwoofer. I wanted to the countersunk look, so I cut 2 different size of rings;
since I lost th actual cardboard rings that came with the woofer, I had to be creative and used a pan (wife still does not know) to get the appropriate size of ring.

glued 2 rings together with liquid nail and let it dry overnight.

used dowels and hot glue gun to give the rings the aim I wanted

side view

used a fleece and 3m spray glue to attach the fiberglass to the rings, then cover the fleece with 4 layers of resin and fiberglass mat.

measured the inside space for the correct cubic ft.

here is the final product. after completing this and seeing how much of a work it is, now I know why UNCALD4 charges $380 for this )) it was a lot of work but I had fun.

Old 12-20-2008, 05:23 PM