Sponsored by:

Seat heater and battery question

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2009, 09:43 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Seat heater and battery question

I found this paragraph in my owner's manual:

Do not use the seat heaters, even on the LO setting, if the engine is left idling for an extended period. This can weaken the battery, causing hard starting.
Now I'm no mechanic but I THOUGHT that when the engine was on, anything in the car that uses power, including the seat heaters, draw power directly from the alternator, so the battery is not used at all. The only time power is drawn from the battery is when the engine is not running. So then, I should be able to use the heat seaters non-stop for as long as I like while the engine is running and it shouldn't affect the battery. What am I missing?
Old 03-03-2009, 09:55 PM
AZ Community Team

Received 7,770 Likes on 4,341 Posts
I thought if the alternator cannot supply enough power, the car will draw add'l power/wattage from the battery.

Perhaps at idle the alternator doesn't generate enough power for the seats plus various other elcetrical (Control Sytems, Navi, Radio, etc) systems and so draws from the battery.

Just a guess.
Old 03-03-2009, 09:59 PM
Burning Brakes

Well I once drove for about 4 hours on the highway and had the seat heater on the entire time and had no problems. And my battery is almost 5 years old. Does the alternator generate more power when the car is moving compared to idling?
Old 03-03-2009, 10:05 PM
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I am not sure I am right but i have a 08 Sienna use for work. I have power inverter in there which withdraw alot of power (1000w). I have a laptop , laser printer and couple other scanner that i need to charge it with power inverter. Well, I killed 1 battery in 3months and since then on, I minimize on my charging my other systems when i am not driving. Maybe It doesnt support enought current and kill battery? I dont know but seem related.