Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Honda Financing for my new TL

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2005, 12:41 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Honda Financing for my new TL

I just picked up my TL a few days back, a NBP/Ebony 6MT w/Nav. I ordered it, opting for Honda Financing since my dealer told me that I had been approved for 5.5% for 60 months. This was three weeks before delivery. Now my dealer tells me Honda isn't willing to finance but Chase is willing to do it for 6.75%. Honda's reason is that I'm not a US citizen and my work permit (H1 visa) is not 24 months old. For those of you who know about visas, I came to US on an F1 (student) visa and graduated with a Masters degree in December '04. The company I've been working for parttime for the past two years took me on fulltime since January and sponsored my H1B (work) visa.

Have any of you faced problems with Honda Financing in this regard, because I know I can afford to pay my bills and what's more important is that I have good job security (at least for the 5 yrs my loan will last). I will be speaking to Honda on Monday, trying to convince them. Any advice guys on how I might be able to convince them?
Old 06-25-2005, 12:55 AM
Racer

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts
same visa here ...
only i bought the house first
when honda saw my credit score in high 750s there was no questions about how long i've been in the US
i got 3.75%
Old 06-25-2005, 01:47 AM
Instructor

I checked my credit score a few days back and it is about 720, so its not exactly pathetic, but the fact that you bought a house first obviously mattered to them. This is my first new car. The dealer went to extent of having to fax my bank statements to prove my income (about $80K and IMHO more than enough to afford to pay for the TL over 5 years). I wish they'd just contact me directly and sort their damn problems out.
Old 06-25-2005, 11:54 AM
Racer

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts
how did it even come up that you're not a permanent resident?