Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me with this mod

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2008, 08:25 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help me with this mod

I've decided that I want to paint the grill of my WDP like this member's . I'm planning on painted the Hood trim and "V" trim WDP and the interior parts (except for the Chrome "A") black. I'm actually using NBP as the black.

I've never really done anything like this and I know most would say just get it professionally done but I actually enjoy trying projects like this on my own. Its fun and the feeling of seeing it complete and knowing you did it yourself is the best. It makes you love the car that much more.

So... if there's any others out there who have painted the grill themselves or have any experience with stuff like this please check out what I'm planning to do and feel free to give me any tips. Like I said I've never done this before so the smallest tip would help.

Supplies
-NBP Spray can
-WDP spray cans (basecoat and midcoat)
-Clearcoat spray can
-Primer
-Rubbing compound
-Acrylic laquer thinner
-400 grit sandpaper
-a bunch of cloths
-Gloves

The Plan
-Clean grill pieces with soap & water then use wax & grease remover
-Use automotive tape to tape off the Acura "A"
-Scuff the grills with #400 grit sandpaper prior to painting
-Apply 2 coats of primer, 2 coats of basecoat, 2 coats of mid-coat(for the WDP paint) and 2 coats of clearcoat
I'm planning on allowing 20-30 mins. of dry time for the first coats before recoating and 1-2 hours of dry time after the final coat for each paint. Is more time necessary?
-3 days after painting apply some rubbing compound to make the grill shine.

I read something that said you should scuff the grills with sandpaper in between each coat but not on the final coat, what do you think?