Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Automakers: Oil Lasts Longer

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2007, 11:10 AM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Automakers: Oil Lasts Longer

Searched for the title & publisher, and didn't see this article posted yet, so my apologies if this is a repost. I was looking for some info in the 3G garage to see how often people normally change their oil the other day. I think this article sheds some more light on that topic. I got my oil changed today and my mechanic told me about my '06 TL: "I wouldnt' go more than 5000 without getting the oil changed."

link

Hope this helps!
Old 03-22-2007, 12:49 PM
Cruisin'

Good article. In other words...Trust Honda/Acuras MID for oil change intervals.
Old 03-22-2007, 01:06 PM
Burning Brakes

I personally up until recently have changed my oil with syth every 3months/3000 miles. I've been doing this for the past 16 years. I recently woke and up figured I'm flushing my money down the toilet and just follow the manufactures recommendations. I think maybe if I would using dino oil, I would still do the 3/3000, but synth can go a lot longer than 3/3000. I've been doing my wifes car every 6000 (like the book says), and I'm going to just follow the MID on my car.

On my wifes last car (Mercedes), we just followed the computer and it had us doing it about every 12,000 miles. It did specify Mobil 1 oil though. Won't take dino to 12,000 miles.
Old 03-22-2007, 01:34 PM
Drifting

Received 212 Likes on 100 Posts
since the TL engine inherently inst *hard* on the oil as a turbo or supercharged engine, i was keen to follow what the MID says. but with that said, i wasnt going to follow the MID having regular oil inside. it would be synthetic oil from the first oil change onwards.
Old 03-22-2007, 02:33 PM
No more Infinitis for me