Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Acura Roadside TLC or AAA

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2004, 09:58 AM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Acura Roadside TLC or AAA

I am new to both Acura and Roadside Assistance, however, a friend just had occassion to call Acura Roadside Assistance and he has absolutely NOTHING
GOOD to say about them. I was considering finally getting AAA even though I always drive a car under three years old. Just because I am at that point I would not be happy about changing a tire in the snow on some highway at 2 am and because friends that are AAA members usually rave about them. When I got the 04 TL with Roadside I figured save a couple of pennies not joining AAA
but now may rethink that.

Friends interaction with Acura Roadside Assistance:

Couple of weeks ago, Putnam County NY, Cold Spring NY. Driving his 03 TL, 18,000 miles on odometer, transmission failed. Felt like had come out of gear, vehicle would barely move. Many know that previous years transmissions
have been of concern, hoping personally that 04 has corrected the problem.

7 PM on a Friday, calls 1-800 for Acura Roadside. Advised that shows no tow service listed in that area. Will be happy to dispatch local Cold Spring Police to Assist. ( Hell can call cops himself ) Okay, this is not farmland!
Not top of some mountain! He is 20 miles from his Acura dealer, Heart Acura Poughkeepsie. Maybe 40 miles from my Acura dealer Curry Acura Scarsdale. I point that out because TWO Acura dealers not all that far away. Although
Putnam County is for most part bedroom county his location is well within reasonable distance of several major metro size areas. I can't believe they have no contract for tow. Certainly his Dealer 20 miles away from where he
is stuck should have either thier own flatbed or a local contract I would think. Calls his dealer HEART Acura and is advised that only sales on site at 7 pm and can't help him accept graciously agree to wait for him to arrive