WAGON BUILD - need help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2016, 12:06 PM
10th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
WAGON BUILD - need help!

Hi all -

I am wanting to build this look and am a total noob. Please tell me if you see lowering here.

My whip is a stock 2012 wagon, white. Grocery getter / surf wagon / appliance (that is saving stupid errand miles being put on a LandCruiser and a BMW). Not a racer, but I really HATE the OEM wheels. My tires will be done very soon and I'll do suspension if I have to (to get this look), but at 30k miles I'm happy for now to keep the OEM squish and just upgrade wheels at this point.

These are (I believe) 17" TL type S wheels.

Looking at specs I'm seeing OEM for my 2012 at 17x7.5 and the TL type S are 17x8. Also, published bolt pattern is showing as 115mm for OEM (??) and 114.3mm for TL type S. Doesn't seem compatible. I know these wheels fit Gen1 TSXs, but despite the photo uncertain about Gen 2 (the tsx wagon is I believe Gen2 only?) What am I missing?

Last, offset for OEM is 55 and TL type S are 45. I don't know what that means from a spacing standpoint. Like I said - I'm a noob...

Thoughts?

Thanks much.
Old 07-03-2016, 09:44 PM
Unregistered Member

Received 405 Likes on 282 Posts
Stock tsx bolt pattern is 5x114.3, not 115, so the wheels will definitely fit.

55 vs 45 offset, the lower the number the further out the wheels will be from the mounting point, meaning they won't be sunk into the fender as much.

That wagon looks like it may be lowered a bit, you can either achieve that look with lowering springs or coilovers.
The following 2 users liked this post by Harper:
makakio (07-05-2016), xtcnrice (07-04-2016)
Old 07-03-2016, 10:36 PM

Received 7,772 Likes on 5,045 Posts
Type S wheels fit no problem. They only stick out like 20mm further than the stock TSX wheels.