Notices

OFFICIAL Hondata Flashpro Calibration/Tuning Thread

 
Old 01-30-2013, 09:38 AM
  #1  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
OFFICIAL Hondata Flashpro Calibration/Tuning Thread

Alright so no one has made a thread yet on progress or tunes they have made with their flashpro, so I thought I would go ahead and make this thread. Feel free to post any findings/ problems, questions or anything Flashpro related here.

I'll go ahead and start by saying that Hondata has not yet created a section in their forum for questions regarding the flashpro for the 09-10 US TSX. I posted a thread up in the ILX/ 2012si section and they said they are working on a section dedicated to us. So hopefully that means they will be offering more calibrations for us soon as well.

Has anyone had any experience with sending out data logs to a 3rd party and having them analyze and make calibrations for you?

Last edited by ssjoeboe9; 01-30-2013 at 09:40 AM.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
ksawant (10-08-2015)
Old 01-30-2013, 10:11 AM
  #2  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: STL
Age: 37
Posts: 972
Received 241 Likes on 185 Posts
I have a tune, I am willing to share it. I have not performed logging to have a third party tweak it though.

I am willing to be part of the "working towards a better tomorrow" if that's the plan here.
optimusaccord is offline  
The following users liked this post:
rockstar143 (01-20-2016)
Old 01-30-2013, 01:51 PM
  #3  
SeeYou2Crew #2
 
ed_423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Socal 626
Age: 27
Posts: 8,574
Received 823 Likes on 634 Posts
lol thought this would be an UNofficial thread since you are not a mod
ed_423 is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 03:20 PM
  #4  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
No.. It's official lol

Optimus, what kind of calibration did you do? And which mods do you have?

I'm kind of unique cause Im pretty stock when it comes to engine mods. I only deleted resonator and did k&n drop in filter. I was seeing if anyone has a stock tune yet or if I need to pave the way for other people.

I'm all for helping the community. I've never been at the front of new gen mods so it's kinda cool.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 04:17 PM
  #5  
Registered Member
iTrader: (1)
 
odus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 31
Posts: 806
Received 88 Likes on 72 Posts
also interested
odus is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 04:28 PM
  #6  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: STL
Age: 37
Posts: 972
Received 241 Likes on 185 Posts
My tune is for a takeda CAI and an RV6 down pipe. at 102*f ambient temperature, the whp is 194 with 173 or 174 ft/lb.

In cold weather it really pulls.

I think I'm going to do the rv6 swap with zdx TB next and have that tuned.

We are re-doing our kitchen... so I think the turbo is going to be delayed a bit. <-- That's a sad panda right there.
optimusaccord is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 04:45 PM
  #7  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
lol @ at redoing the kitchen.

The amish make some pretty expensive cabinets lol

I honestly don't think intakes do much ( as far as I'm concerned my resonator delete was a free CAI) but that downpipe would def make a difference. I'm guessing you made calibrations off of a dyno tune?

And no stock calibrations right? You bought the FP after the CAI and downpipe correct?
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 06:25 PM
  #8  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: STL
Age: 37
Posts: 972
Received 241 Likes on 185 Posts
Yes, I took it to a local shop that did the baseline and the tune. With the intake it was like 171 at the wheels. After DP it was like 187 or something... then with a tune it was almost 200... Pretty sweet. I'm hoping with the manifold and bigger throttle it will break the 200 barrier easy, and let me rebuild funds for the boost. Probably do LW FW, and clutch, and a set of enkei rims in the meantime...
optimusaccord is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 07:02 PM
  #9  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
That's cool. I'm Gunna look into prices for a dyno and ecu tune or just a street tune from a 3rd party. I'll let y'all know the progress
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
bagwell (01-31-2013)
Old 01-31-2013, 02:13 PM
  #10  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Burbs, Chicago
Age: 35
Posts: 862
Received 116 Likes on 84 Posts
Just placed an order for a Flashpro
thunderbt3 is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 02:41 PM
  #11  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
Nice, the software is awesome.. Just so much info that it's hard to discern what changes you need to make.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 07:10 PM
  #12  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
Found "E-tunez" online for street tuning. They offer a $200 tune that includes full analysis of your datalogs and up to 4 retunes in 30 days. AKA they send you a calibration, you do a run, send them the datalog, then they send you an updated calibration.

Contacted them to see if they have actually tuned any TSX's yet. Trying to get a lower price if I'm the first one.

Does this mean yall will get a free tune after I'm done... Maybe
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 07:15 AM
  #13  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Burbs, Chicago
Age: 35
Posts: 862
Received 116 Likes on 84 Posts
My FP will be arriving today and looking forward to do some street tuning. I have the RV6 Precat delete along with resonator delete. I was going to go with the RV6 test pipe, but with a baby on the way, it will be the HFC instead.

From what I've researched so far, its not too difficult to do some street tuning. Put a A/F ratio sensor in the 2nd O2 sensor bung, street run, look at logs, tweak fuel, and ignition tables to lean/richen, street run again to see the result and check for knock. Once the A/F ratio is pretty constant then you can start advancing timing 1-2 degrees at a time to make more power until knock occurs. I'll have to wait till I can find some shops that are having dyno days for some cheap dyno runs to see if I'm actually making more power. Once I have the green light for the SC, then I'll have a shop properly tune it.

Last edited by thunderbt3; 02-05-2013 at 07:19 AM.
thunderbt3 is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 08:35 AM
  #14  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
Yeah I thought it would be pretty simple as well, but I'm struggling with tuning it
Myself. Also when I try and change my lambda values, I see it change on te graph but I see no numerical evidence of change in the table. Idk if it's supposed to show up, or I'm doing it wrong. Maybe you can take a look at and have better luck.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 02-05-2013, 10:25 AM
  #15  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chino,CA
Age: 42
Posts: 44
Received 42 Likes on 28 Posts
Selling my Flashpro
axionindustries is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 09:06 AM
  #16  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
Hey thunder, were you able to play around with your new toy yet?
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 09:58 AM
  #17  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Burbs, Chicago
Age: 35
Posts: 862
Received 116 Likes on 84 Posts
Originally Posted by ssjoeboe9 View Post
Hey thunder, were you able to play around with your new toy yet?
Not really. I got to the box kinda late last night. I wiped an old netbook that I'll be using exclusively in the car so it's nice and fresh. I installed Flashpro Manager along with the USB drivers, put my info in and registered it with Hondata. That's about as far as I got last night. Unlike Orlando, it was in the 20's last night in Chicago and I didn't want to sit out in the cold garage hooking it up to the car. I'm also sure the neighbors didn't want me running up and down the street at 11pm "testing", lol.

We should put our heads together the next time I'm in Orlando and do some street tuning. I got some relatives that live there and I head down there a couple times of year for work. I remember I saw your TSX at Walmart a couple years ago.
thunderbt3 is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 02:50 PM
  #18  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
I just did a data log and live tune, using the "auto tune" feature where it makes changes to your calibration as you are driving. Gunna see how it turns out and then report back.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 01:09 PM
  #19  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Burbs, Chicago
Age: 35
Posts: 862
Received 116 Likes on 84 Posts
I locked the FP to the car last night and played around with datalogging. I did see that Hondata has a couple maps preloaded in FP Manager. I flashed the "tuned" map to the car this morning before I left for work. I didn't get to push the car much driving to work since we got freezing rain overnight, but the trans feels different (AT...FAIL). It seems like its holding on the gear longer before shifting. The shift feels more aggressive as well when using the paddles in sport mode. I think this is more of a trans tuning thing, I'll try again tonight on the way home and maybe disconnect the negative terminal of the battery to reset everything.

I did look at the stock maps for both MT and AT and they look identical. When comparing the stock map to the preloaded "tuned" map, it looks like they just played with the ignition tables. There's also a preloaded map for bigger injectors.

Before I put on the flame suit for having an AT. I used to work in a area with horrible traffic so I got the AT. Now that I've got a different job in a area with less traffic, I kick myself everyday for not going with the MT . :flame suit on:
thunderbt3 is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 03:07 PM
  #20  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
I'm almost tuned where I want it for my stock engine. Mostly playing around with correct air fuel ratios. I feel most difference in WOT at high rpm and also( anyone else with m/t chime in) in second gear when excelerating at like 70% throttle I could feel that the power wasn't smooth across the band until like 5000 rpm, it felt not jerky but like small steps of power increase or something. Anyways, the flash pro completely got rid of that and now it's really smooth.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 04:33 PM
  #21  
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West Burbs, Chicago
Age: 35
Posts: 862
Received 116 Likes on 84 Posts
How did autotune work for you? From what I read, it helps a lot with low to mid throttle response.
thunderbt3 is offline  
The following users liked this post:
JC86 (09-14-2013)
Old 02-07-2013, 06:47 PM
  #22  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
Still in progress lol... I used autotune but never heard the beeping it was supposed to make when it made changes, but at the end of the datalog it said modified, so maybe it made changes?? Idk... I'm having a hard time reading the graphs and understanding what I'm seeing. I have a buddy who is gunna review it with me and see if we need to make any manual changes. I just feel like the computer should have been beeping at me a lot lol, but it didn't, so maybe I did it wrong.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 01-07-2014, 04:52 PM
  #23  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
REVIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now that more people seem to be interested maybe we can get this thread back on track with people sharing tunes and advice for using the flashpro.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
The following 3 users liked this post by ssjoeboe9:
HHCZ (01-08-2014), iCrap (01-08-2014), UTAH TSX (01-07-2014)
Old 01-07-2014, 11:37 PM
  #24  
Registered Member
 
UTAH TSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,183
Received 507 Likes on 314 Posts
I used VitViper tuned and was very happy with the job he did for me, the car runs like a champ now
http://vittuned.com/
How Does This eTuning Thing Work?
eTuning is the process of creating a custom calibration (custom tune) for your vehicle based on vehicle datalogs. The process is very simple for you, but very in depth in the background (our end). You do the easy part -- drive the vehicle just like you normally would, we do the hard part -- make it run right! How is this done without a dyno? As vehicles have evolved so have their ECU's (engine computers) -- allowing for very in depth and detailed datalogs due to advanced engine sensors. We are able to take this data and interpret it to build a completely custom tailored tune for your vehicle and specific modifications. We drive our vehicles day to day -- so why not build the perfect tune tailored to your street driving habits directly from datalogs you create while driving your car to work, school or just for pleasure?
UTAH TSX is offline  
The following users liked this post:
ksawant (10-08-2015)
Old 01-08-2014, 12:07 AM
  #25  
TSX AMG Type //M i-VVT
 
iCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 4,577
Received 855 Likes on 642 Posts
$170 is kind of steep. Is it really worth it?
iCrap is offline  
Old 01-08-2014, 12:59 AM
  #26  
Registered Member
 
MGCU2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nova Scotia
Age: 26
Posts: 39
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I have heard nothing but awesomeness about vit, as soon as I get some time to put on what I have laying around (just waiting for the rest of my rbc swap) Ill be using his services. Will let you know but Im confident he's your man for getting the best results out of our k series
MGCU2 is offline  
Old 01-08-2014, 07:31 AM
  #27  
Registered Member
 
UTAH TSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,183
Received 507 Likes on 314 Posts
Originally Posted by iCrap View Post
$170 is kind of steep. Is it really worth it?
A dyno tune can be 350-600 dollars and it is still recommend to tune drivability after
UTAH TSX is offline  
Old 01-08-2014, 08:26 AM
  #28  
Registered Member
 
richyrich1988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Gulf Coast, MS
Posts: 324
Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
I read somewhere on here that the Hondata Reflash is just as good as the flash pro but a lot cheaper, if you can find a hondata dealer in your area and go to them.
richyrich1988 is offline  
Old 01-08-2014, 09:20 AM
  #29  
Registered Member
iTrader: (9)
 
tOny3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Age: 25
Posts: 783
Received 114 Likes on 102 Posts
Lol hondata makes flashpro...

I've heard nothing but good stories from vit also so i say its worth the money. My friend has maps from vit for his fg2 and that thing screams when he opens throttle
tOny3 is offline  
Old 01-09-2014, 01:01 PM
  #30  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
So no one has really given a shot at "self-tuning" yet?
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 01-09-2014, 02:53 PM
  #31  
TSX AMG Type //M i-VVT
 
iCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 4,577
Received 855 Likes on 642 Posts
I guess not..
iCrap is offline  
Old 01-09-2014, 04:31 PM
  #32  
Registered Member
 
cris_crozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 87
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
I've asked Blaktrax Performance here in my area. They're an authorized Hondata dealer and dynotuner. the rate for reflash is $350 for base tune. Dyno tuning/custom tuning would be $600. I'd say $695 for the flash pro and $170 for e-tuning isn't bad at all.
cris_crozz is offline  
Old 01-09-2014, 05:49 PM
  #33  
TSX AMG Type //M i-VVT
 
iCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 4,577
Received 855 Likes on 642 Posts
We should be able to tune ourselves though...
iCrap is offline  
Old 01-09-2014, 05:58 PM
  #34  
Registered Member
 
UTAH TSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,183
Received 507 Likes on 314 Posts
Originally Posted by iCrap View Post
We should be able to tune ourselves though...
We can just be careful, trust me on this it get verry expensive if a mistake is made
UTAH TSX is offline  
The following 2 users liked this post by UTAH TSX:
cris_crozz (01-09-2014), iCrap (01-09-2014)
Old 01-09-2014, 07:38 PM
  #35  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
I agree with you Utah... But for most people with NA build the risk is a lot lower. I just think there isn't much info out there in self tuning. Which is why 3rd parties love it because once they learn what to look for and what needs to be optimized/ minimized then it's the same thing for every person that runs through the door.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 01-10-2014, 09:44 AM
  #36  
Graphite Ghost
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 2,188
Received 384 Likes on 306 Posts
one time in the chrysler/dodge/jeep tuning world where the tuning software is about a 5K investment.......diablosport allowed peeps to adjust knock sensors on modern day hemi's on their handhelds......motors were popping all over the place.

thats why they dont allow EVERYONE to tune/ there is a bit of skill and knowledge involved. and the more add-ons or mods involved the more easily things could go awry/
robpp is offline  
Old 01-10-2014, 05:33 PM
  #37  
ROTAREDOM
Thread Starter
 
ssjoeboe9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dublin, OH
Age: 28
Posts: 5,673
Received 1,483 Likes on 1,055 Posts
Originally Posted by robpp View Post
one time in the chrysler/dodge/jeep tuning world where the tuning software is about a 5K investment.......diablosport allowed peeps to adjust knock sensors on modern day hemi's on their handhelds......motors were popping all over the place.

thats why they dont allow EVERYONE to tune/ there is a bit of skill and knowledge involved. and the more add-ons or mods involved the more easily things could go awry/
ehhhh I kinda agree with that, but most add ons do some of the following:
Allow more airflow
Allow more fuel
Reduce bottlenecks

I think the main thing is getting your A/F correct for the new goodies that you add. And each goody will affect your A/F ratio over you entire power band.

Basically you have to consider what your A/F needs to be for all 6 gears (manual) at each RPM range say (1000 RPM increments) all whilst considering throttle percentage (25%, 50%, 75%, 100%)

But if you break it down it's really not that hard... just start with 1st gear @ 3000RPM and 25% throttle. Look at your datalog and realize that your A/F is lower or higher than it should be. then adjust. Then move to 1st gear @3000RPM and 50% throttle and adjust... and so on and so forth until you've gone through the entire band.

It's really not a very hard concept, it's just you have to have experience or have someone with experience show you what to look for in the datalogs. It moves so fast it's like reading the matrix code. It can be overwhelming. But once you understand the concept then you can apply it to everything and get a good result. Same basic concept applies to VTEC.

I know there are a lot of other features that are adjustable as well as launch RPM, red line,RL recovery RPM, VTEC range etc etc but I feel like we (as a group) are smart enough to get a good grip on self tuning the major aspects of this car.
ssjoeboe9 is offline  
Old 01-13-2014, 05:52 PM
  #38  
Registered Member
 
Cu2Suspect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New York
Age: 28
Posts: 305
Received 47 Likes on 37 Posts
My question is....how is the stock equivalent tune that Hondata made feel on the 6 speed manual... Not up to dyno tuning since I don't have many performance mods but would like to have the increased drive ability and eliminate rev hang
Cu2Suspect is offline  
Old 01-13-2014, 11:24 PM
  #39  
KidWiTh2kTL
iTrader: (3)
 
hoangtanle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Seattle,WA
Age: 31
Posts: 214
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
i wish i can provide my Hondata Flashpro data...
hoangtanle is offline  
Old 01-13-2014, 11:33 PM
  #40  
TSX AMG Type //M i-VVT
 
iCrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 4,577
Received 855 Likes on 642 Posts
You can... export your calibration data and upload it here.
iCrap is offline  
The following 2 users liked this post by iCrap:
cris_crozz (01-14-2014), ssjoeboe9 (01-16-2014)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: OFFICIAL Hondata Flashpro Calibration/Tuning Thread


Contact Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.