Replacing stock radio with... stock radio

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2007, 06:28 PM
Pro

Received 81 Likes on 40 Posts
Replacing stock radio with... stock radio

I've been throwing the infamous Er-01 message of death for a few months, and after doing the bump and switch, the pry and pull, and even hooking a cd player up to my blitzsafe, I'm going to go ahead and replace it.

The dealer wanted 800 for a new unit, and 200 for installation

Okay, that's not going to happen. I'm pretty sure that its an easy self-install, seeing that I darn near took it out when I put in the blitzsafe. If not, I'll just take it to the aftermarket audio shop down the street. (They're quality, don't worry).

Either way, I'm looking on ebay, and I have a few questions. Will the 00-01 work for an '02? Are the nav ones any different?

I saw one from canada for a nice price, but the guy said he didnt have the radio code. Now I know if you lose yours, you can just go to the dealership, but does that work if the one in my car isnt the original? I mean, who's to say I didn't steal it?
Old 01-31-2007, 07:07 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,137 Likes on 1,067 Posts
If the guy from Canada is legit- he can look at the serial number on the back of the radio and with some proof of ownership go to the dealer -Who will look up the code for free.

People in the states have simply gotten the number off the back and walked in the dealer and came back with the code- no paperwork no hassle- long as you look like you own an Acura I guess

Otherwise- you are right- who is to know if its stolen

Post a WTB ad in the Black Market section of this acurazine forum- see if someone is sitting on a good used unit.

Also call your local auto recycler aka junkyard and ask what they have.
Find a good one out of a crashed car maybe?

Good luck and always be on your guard- no radio code hmmm where exactly did you get this radio with the built in anti theft code????????????????
Old 01-31-2007, 07:49 PM
Senior Moderator