How to replace CV axle on 03 TL S

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2006 | 10:39 PM
Cruisin'

How to replace CV axle on 03 TL S

Hi guys, I'm a very experienced amateur mechanic, but my 03 TL S is uncharted territory for me. My driver's side CV at 45k miles is dumping a ton of green CV grease from the inboard joint. The boot looks fine, I can only assume the clamp let go. I am going to replace the axle, I am not taking any chances of what the real problem with it is. The CV axle is straddled by the strut assembly. Obviously the outboard joint is too large to fit through the strut. Will the inboard joint fit through the strut on the way out, or does the lower control arm/strut have to be removed? Where is the best place to separate the spindle to allow room to drive the CV out, at the upper or lower balljoint? Instructions from someone who has done CV axles on a 99+ TL are appreciated, as I can't get a manual for the 03, even online.
Old 11-11-2006 | 11:49 PM
7th Gear

please just put some grease and a new clamp on. it would save both of us some time...
Old 11-11-2006 | 11:57 PM
Senior Moderator

Start out by removing center halfshaft nut. Then the 2 bolts that hold the strut fork in place (1 on the strut, 1on the lower control arm. Remove the strut fork. Then seperate the lower ball joint. and remove the halfshaft from the spindle.
Old 11-11-2006 | 11:57 PM
Skeet Skeet Skeet

k its not easy and its not that hard....u will need a 32mm socket for the hub, a breaker bar, jack stands, a ball joint seperator or a hammer, 17mm & 14mm.
1. losen the hub nut before you jack up the car
2. jack the car up and put it on the jack stands
3. take the wheel off
4. take off the hub nut
5. remove the bolt that holds the rotor on to the lower control arm with the ball joint seperator or use the hammer to hit the LCA and it will pop out
6. use a screw driver or a mallet to know the end of the axle through the rotor